We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FREEZING outside...Warm Hearts and Food Inside”

The Dam Pub Gastropub
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Thornbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A popular family owned Gastropub set in the quaint village of Thornbury, Ontario. We are featured regularly on The Food Network's "You Gotta Eat Here!" Folks come for miles to enjoy Red Seal Chef Suzette Gerry's culinary delights, over 665 whiskies in Stephanie's Whisky Bar, and our impeccable service with seasoned waiters. All this nestled into our circa 1875 house with a welcoming and cozy ambience. Reservations highly recommended. YES when you see that little yellow airplane pulling a banner saying THEDAMPUB.CA-ALL DESSERTS HOMEMADE ...... that is us!
Maberly, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“FREEZING outside...Warm Hearts and Food Inside”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Oh boy...it was cold..even at high noon...probably close to -13C. Drifting snow blowing by the window but the sun was shining. We went to The Dam Pub with our in-laws and had a glorious time. The ambiance and the food all came together for a perfect experience. The in-laws are 'difficult' feeders. They ordered the hamburger and the fish and chips....excellent, in their words. I ordered the smoked turkey sandwich ...with fries, of course...excellent. Hubby ordered the smoked meat sandwich..again, with fries of course..again excellent. We did not order any whiskey, but noted that they now offer 703 different kinds....going to 704 in March. The service was spot-on. Our brother-in-law actually said later this afternoon that the service was one of the best he'd ever experienced. WOW...now, THAT is a compliment!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    101
    24
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic pub environment”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I'm not normally a pub-visiting kind of guy, but this is a place that could change that!
Upon entry you can immediately tell that this is a special place. The environment is warm, welcoming and feels very much like an authentic scottish pub.
I ordered the Strip loin and mashed potatoes for supper and it was absolutely delicious. One of the finest steaks I've eaten. Six and twelve string guitarist Greg Wyard provided the entertainment this evening, and he put on a fantastic show. He played lighter songs during the dinner hour and heated things up later in the evening, at which point more than half of those in the pub were dancing to the music.
But perhaps the single best feature of The Dam Pub is the friendly staff and service. Everyone is very friendly and looks as though they love their job. The family who owns the Pub are some of the nicest people I've ever met.
If your looking for a small town pub with huge atmosphere, look no further. This place has it all!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kier0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must for whiskey lovers”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Dam Pub has great atmosphere and good solid food. The service is friendly - although a trifle slow. Our main courses were well-prepared and tasty. The desserts were a little overwhelming - but delicious.it was a busy night and our table near the door was drafty - people were going by our table all night. Our fault for reserving so late on a busy weekend, I suppose.

The whiskey selection is unbelievable - the menu could provide a little more guidance - but we found sme good ones to try. We appreciated the option of the nip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Winifred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“lovely place”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

had researched DP on tripadvisor prior to going there and was expecting something special and indeed it was... very friendly staff and so was the owner who happened to be there as well, loads of atmosphere and the selection of scotch is absolutely amazing.
its the kind of place that the locals hang out and we ended up having a nice chat with a couple of gentleman seated behind us, the proprietor finally told them to "leave those people alone and let them eat!"
we had such an enjoyable afternoon there and they were quite tickled to know that we had previewed their menu online and that my husband had decided to have Haggis! I had a pie which was really good as well...
we drove down from the Blue mountains resort and the drive was worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Misky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Bay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I played as part of the band performing at the Robbie Burns celebration tonight visiting for the first time and I have to say I was mightily impressed. The place is so comfy and cozy, has a real authentic pub atmosphere, the staff is warm and friendly, food is delish, the selection of whiskies is second to none. All in all a place I will return to for special occasions and I am already planning to sail to the town of Thornbury with similar minded friends, leave the boat at the marina and walk there so we can truly indulge ourselves.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dam Pub Gastropub also viewed

Thornbury, Blue Mountains
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
 
Blue Mountains, Grey County
Blue Mountains, Grey County
 

Been to The Dam Pub Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing