We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few days away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dam Pub Gastropub

The Dam Pub Gastropub
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Thornbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Canadian, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A popular family owned Gastropub set in the quaint village of Thornbury, Ontario. We are featured regularly on The Food Network's "You Gotta Eat Here!" Folks come for miles to enjoy Red Seal Chef Suzette Gerry's culinary delights, over 665 whiskies in Stephanie's Whisky Bar, and our impeccable service with seasoned waiters. All this nestled into our circa 1875 house with a welcoming and cozy ambience. Reservations highly recommended. YES when you see that little yellow airplane pulling a banner saying THEDAMPUB.CA-ALL DESSERTS HOMEMADE ...... that is us!
London, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A few days away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Food was excellent, service was exceptional, loved the atmosphere and people who worked there wanted to work there and it showed. We will definitely return. First time visitors were treated the same as regulars. Great time.
Ahoui

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ahoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gord P, Owner at The Dam Pub Gastropub, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. I am so glad to here how you feel about our staff. We have a very low staff turnover rate. We try to treat all our staff as family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    95
    21
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food, best people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Recommended by our resort, went with no expectations. The food was great, atmosphere relaxed and service superior. What a lovely evening... I had chicken, always have chicken ;) it was one of the best dishes I have had.. Thanks for a lively evening cheers to you

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gord P, Owner at The Dam Pub Gastropub, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scotch !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Best place for a nip or dram with courteous and knowledgable servers. A must for anyone in Thornbury...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gord P, Owner at The Dam Pub Gastropub, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are constantly expanding our whisky selection. We will have over 700 to choose from shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thornbury
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Pub Anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Staff treat you like family, the food is delicious, service is excellent. You can enjoy a couple's night, girls' night out or solo. Thank you to Sandy, Gord, Stephanie, Jillian, Tina and the whole Dam Pub staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shareene2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gord P, Owner at The Dam Pub Gastropub, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for the great review Shareene. We are very proud of our entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our lunch here. Shared the ploughman's plate. Neat little pub with a great patio. Service was attentive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gord P, Owner at The Dam Pub Gastropub, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thanks you for your visit and review. We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dam Pub Gastropub also viewed

Thornbury, Blue Mountains
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
 
Blue Mountains, Grey County
Blue Mountains, Grey County
 
Blue Mountains, Grey County
Thornbury, Blue Mountains
 

Been to The Dam Pub Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing