We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heathcote Haven Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Thornbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of Marcia, Pete and Raven (the dog) in the stunning scenery at Heathcote Haven. This home has been beautifly refurbished, everything is clean and fresh. The beds are SO comfortable, we were asleep in minutes! It felt like home. A complimentary bottle of wine (very nice wine) was welcome at the end of the day. Coffee is great and the breakfast delicious. We are looking forward to a retun trip in the spring with friends. Highly recommended. Thank you so much for making my birthday special!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, Owner at Heathcote Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Your last minute booking was meant to be! Great to meet you & thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Heathcote Haven Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 61 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

we were invited by Marcia, a lovely woman who makes her guests feel like royalty, for a complementary stay in recognition of Remembrance Day. By far the best B&B experience we have ever had. She gave us the best recomendations for supper and made us a delicious breakfast with a great view to the country. the house is the dream house. no words to describe how amazing was our suite. perfect for a couple getaway and just stay cozily inside or to go out and enjoy all the recomendations Marcia will happily give you. We are looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I cannot recommend this inn highly enough! Marcia is lovely and the inn is absolutely beautiful. Great location to be near everything, and certainly a beautiful comfortable place to rest while in Blue Mountain. Really wonderful breakfast and a nice stay! (We stayed in June but I forgot to leave a review!!!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dynagrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia56, Owner at Heathcote Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your very lovely review. Many of our guests have chosen Heathcote Haven because of the guest comments on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you return one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

No room for improvement here: stunning property with well-kept grounds, gorgeous location, friendly hosts, amazing food, warm hospitality. We stayed in August of 2012 on a road tour of Ontario; so impressed were we that we re-booked the same room (Valleyview Suite) for the return trip. Our room had EVERYTHING you would want -- bubble tub, walk-in closet, bar fridge, complimentary snacks, king bed, flat-screen TV -- total luxury right down to the silently-closing toilet seat!! Peter took our group on a visit to feed the horses and Marcia baked home-made goodies each evening. Wine on the cool deck overlooking the valley -- you won't be disappointed if you book this B&B.

Room Tip: Valleyview Suite has a huge, private bath.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irisheyesvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia56, Owner at Heathcote Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. Our memories of our first B.C. visitors to Heathcote Haven will last forever!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I just went on a girls spa weekend and we stayed here. It was our first time at any B&B and I was quite surprised at how lovely it can be. Marcia was such an amazing host with a wealth of information on the town and activities in the area.

The breakfast they served was delicious and sophsiticated. I felt so spoiled with all the yummy food they served us that my tummy is sad that it only gets cereal in the morning now.

All I can say is that this was an amazing weekend and it was only because Marcia and Peter were amazing hosts.

I highly recommend going to this area in the fall because the fall leaves are a beautiful site.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the king bed. The mattress was amazing! Simplicity Bistro and Dam Pub are grea...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked this B&B with another couple for the Collingwood Elvis Festival. When we arrived, we were greeted by our friendly hosts, Marcia and Peter and their sweetheart of a dog Raven, who loves new guests! We had driven up from Kitchener on a Friday after a long week at work and were struck by the quiet peacefulness of the property.

The home is stunning. Extremely clean, with nice touches for decorating - "it's all in the details". Original woodwork in this century home was hand sanded and stained by Peter. The bedrooms have the old transom windows. Quality shows everywhere.

The rooms were well stocked with water in the mini-fridge, and snacks, and you could get coffee any time in the kitchen. We felt so comfortable and at home. Marcia and Peter have lived in the area a long time and can recommend places to eat and things to see. We didn't have a lot of time because Elvis was our reason to visit!

Breakfast both mornings was delicious. Lots of options including fruit and fresh pastries/breads. I like a variety at b&b's and we weren't disappointed having an omelette one day, with bacon, and French "croissants" with sausage the next! Even Peter contributes in the kitchen!

The ONLY caveat for some might be the fact that in the Westwind suite, the private bathroom is actually not within the room itself. It is your own bathroom but it is in the hallway - compared to the Valleyview suite which has an ensuite bathroom. Likely isn't a concern for most, but worth a quick mention. The website does say "private bathroom" for this room, as opposed to "ensuite". The advantage of the Westwind though is that it has a little living room to relax if you want to catch up on scores before hitting the sack :-).

Would most definitely recommend and plan to return!

Room Tip: Valleyview room has ensuite bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitchenerShari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have just returned from a delightful stay at this wonderful B & B! Marcia & Peter [Raven too] made us feel very welcome, we soon felt at home. The beautifully decorated suite, well equipped with everything we might need, was perfect & had its own sitting room. There are fabulous views from all the widows of the surrounding countryside and the breakfasts were delicious, plus extra treats for snacking on during the day. The location is perfect for visiting the area with ample supply of good restaurants. We definitely will visit again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornbury
9.1 mi away
Westin Trillium House Blue Mountain
8.8 mi away
Blue Mountain Inn
Blue Mountain Inn
#5 of 8 in Blue Mountains
380 reviews
11.5 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Embarc Blue Mountain
Embarc Blue Mountain
#1 of 16 in Blue Mountains
141 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
The Lodges at Blue Mountain
#3 of 16 in Blue Mountains
197 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mountain Springs Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathcote Haven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathcote Haven Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Blue Mountains-Meaford Tline, Thornbury, Blue Mountains, Ontario N0H 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Blue Mountains > Thornbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thornbury
Price Range: $118 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heathcote Haven Bed & Breakfast has been called by guests "A Hidden Jewel" "An amazing retreat from the city!" It's an incredibly quiet setting with vistas that are stunning. We have 2 lovely suites that are are private. Each has TV,DVD,Bar Fridge,AC,WIFI. Some of our guests like to spend time in their suite, & others like to gather around the island in the kitchen to chat about their day & discoveries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heathcote Haven Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathcote Haven Bed And Breakfast Thornbury, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing