We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Charm & Delicious Cuisine”
Review of Mill Street Bistro

Mill Street Bistro
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Coldwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Orillia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Country Charm & Delicious Cuisine”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Each visit to The Mill Bistro is a delight. In an old mill, it's windows on 3 sides offer a view of a river, green space, or a quiet side street. The back patio is bordered by the river, trees, and Joey's urns of herbs. The cuisine is delicious and innovatively presented and the service, professional and caring. It's charming ambiance & excellence is reminiscent of the bistros and cafés of Europe. The drive from Orillia is only 20 minutes and it is close to Horseshoe Valley.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    24
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mill Street Bistro”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Went for Mother's Day, nice ambiance. Food was nicely presented. Roasted beet salad - exceptionally good. My wife had the mussels which were also excellent. Good value, nice wine selection. I would go back when I'm in the area again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Pretty location...”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Business lunch drew us to the Bistro. We ordered the special of quiche which was excellent. Nice salad on the side, with light dressing, The cheesecake dessert was sizable and enough for two people. Service was prompt and gracious. By the time we left, the restaurant was full, but everything was under control. Looking forward to returning when the patio is open next to the mill stream.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MVH1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Best stop en route to the Lakes....”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I counted nothing less than 15 Mc Donalds in less than 50 kilometers in this part of Northern Ontario, North of Toronto, close to the 400 Highway. No offense to the burger chain but sometimes it is nice to eat somewhere else on the road...We read the reviews about the Mill Street Bistro and stopped by. This small place is approx. 15mins off the main road to the lakes and provided a relaxing and rather tasty break on the way to Muskoka. Some reviews are probably a little "too" enthusiastic (it is not a fine gastronomic restaurant), but as a local bistro, with a very simple menu, very fresh ingredients and nice innovations also, you just can't beat it in the area (well from what we saw).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frankieandcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once again”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Once again we had a wonderfully prepared meal from chef Joey and his staff. The launch of the Bistrolicous Menu is exactly that delicious. We have come to expect top quality cuisine and service and were not disappointed. If you have the desire to have an excellent meal and service then I would highly recommend you visit the Mill Street Bistro. .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Street Bistro also viewed

 
Port Severn, Muskoka District
Coldwater, Ontario
 

Been to Mill Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing