We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish and Chips .... a must try !!!!”

Bluewater Fish & Chips
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Stayner
Restaurant details
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips .... a must try !!!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The new management really has done a great job. The fish and chips are the best in the area, with generous portions, not greasy, crispy fries and fresh tasting fish !!!! The staff is very pleasant and friendly. We particularly enjoyed our conversation with Monique :) We will make this one of our family favorites.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Greatest fish and chips in the surrounding area”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This restaurant seems to be under new ownership and management. The fish was fresh and plentiful and the batter did not overpower the fish, which is often the case in other restaurants. The quantity was great and the chips were fresh and nicely fried; not greasy. The coleslaw was delicious and the Wait Staff plentiful, friendly and eager. The owner is visible and "works" the room, asking Customers how their meal is. The old establishment was good but this is now definitely an improvement. I only hope that these standards are kept up. I encourage diners to try this establishment however, it is small and very popular already.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sperrinone18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not fancy but good food”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It's a small restaraunt on the outskirts of Stayner. As the name implies it is a fish & chip restaraunt. It is good value and the food is very good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creemore, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips around!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have eaten here several times and have never been disappointed. I have recommended this place to several people and they have all been more than happy with the meal and the service.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“More of a local meeting place than a serious restaurant”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stopped here part way through a cross-country trip. I am leery of “fish and chip” restaurants but my wife wanted to try it. The restaurant is located in a low-lying building on the east side of Stayner. It is decorated in a nautical theme with photos of Great Lakes ships and other memorabilia. Frankly, it looked out of place in a farming community like Stayner.

There are something like 16 tables for dining-in customers. It seemed that about half the patrons in the restaurant knew someone else who was also there. The air was filled with greetings and cross-table chat. The staff was very friendly and efficient.

We ordered two servings of halibut – the most expensive fish on the menu, a single serving of chips, a single serving of cole slaw, a class of water, and a can of pop. A $2.00 butter tart was ordered as take-away while we were at the cash register. Total cost for the meal including tip was $29.48.

That’s a fair amount of money for a modestly-sized lunch - maybe acceptable for great food, but our meal was not great. The fish pieces were cut very thin and had no taste. The batter was deep-fried until it was brittle. We ate everything on our plates but there was very little enjoyment of the food.

Bluewater Fish and Chips seems to be more of a friendly local hangout than a quality fish restaurant. We’ll try somewhere else the next time we are hungry near Stayner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rdr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluewater Fish & Chips also viewed

Stayner, Clearview Township
Stayner, Clearview Township
 
Stayner, Clearview Township
 

Been to Bluewater Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing