We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again another excellent meal”
Review of Bistro 26

Bistro 26
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Stayner
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located on Highway #26 East, between Barrie and Scenic Blue Mountains, Bistro 26, alongside Edenvale Aerodrome provides a casual dining atmosphere, with family friendly service & fare. Catering to all dietary needs/requirements, offering in/out catered functions, Christmas parties, and intimate experiences. Come share our passion for fine foods!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Again another excellent meal”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Laura our server was extremely friendly and attentive. When she asks how you are enjoying your meal, she listens and gives feed back to Chef so he knows how customers are reacting to his cooking. One of the first times I've actually heard that happen. We recently had lobster bisque (lobster flown in directly - this restaurant is on a small airport - sorry, apparently that was the end of the lobster catch). Very tasty and rich. I also had the special of the day - a wrap - which was actually one of the best I have ever had. This restaurant always has interesting and delicious ways to make a meal. Actually, this is the only dinner restaurant we go to in Stayner/Wasaga Beach because everything else in the area is either greasy or lacking in fresh/inventive taste and we are not in to the typical chain type restaurants. I recommend this restaurant without hesitation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank My_lover_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    8
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“So good”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Bistro 26 has been a favorite place for us since it was Fud Grill - so good infact it is our New Years Eve desitination and we had them host our wedding. The chef is fantastic and the service is friendly and responsive. You will have trouble believing you are at an airport :)

Do yourself a favour and it you are in the area or driving between Barrie and Collingwood stop by to try it - you will come back!

Best Airport Food Anywhere!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Decided to avoid the 400 highways on a 10 hour trip home from Sudbury and stumbled upon this restaurant in what appeared to be the middle of nowhere.
Found the prices kind of high for a lunch (although it was dinnertime,) so we just had appetizers. We both had the crabcake appetizers (mix of trout and crab.) Very tasty. The fish tasted very fresh, which is what I would expect in this neck of the woods. The nice thing is they will let you order off the menu, and although it wasn't exactly what we were looking for, it was very good. I wanted a dill sauce for the cakes, and they didn't have that, but provided something that was actually better. We also just wanted a side of steamed veggies, but they didn't have that in the kitchen, so they gave a side of very good squash, which I normally don't like, but really enjoyed.
The restaurant itself appeared to be fine dining, but casual at the same time.
My only suggestion was that the wait staff didn't ask about our drinks enough, although they were pleasant.
We most likely will never be back, because we try to never take the same road twice, but this restaurant made the road more pleasant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KikiTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise on hwy 26”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had lunch at bistro 26 which we were going to try because it was n the way home from the cottage. It is a very spacious place wih clean washrooms and a pleasant staff. The food is good and not outstanding but worth the money you pay for. My Reuben sandwich was good but the amount of corned beef was not as much as most places. My wife had some type of steak dinner which was very good. Ioverall eating here was a positive experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nihonjin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We just came back from a fabulous dinner at this hidden gem ,Treat yourself,your family and friends,you wil not be disappointed.

Excellent food and service !!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 26 also viewed

Stayner, Clearview Township
Stayner, Clearview Township
 
Stayner, Clearview Township
 
Stayner, Clearview Township
 

Been to Bistro 26? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing