We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe & family atmosphere”

By the Sea Rosetta Boutique Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paraparaumu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By the Sea Rosetta Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Paraparaumu B&B and Inns
Auckland
1 review
“Safe & family atmosphere”
Reviewed December 4, 2007

Lorraine & Mike were fantastic hosts! We hadn't stayed @ a B&B before, so didn't know what to expect. After a long drive from Auckland we were made to feel at home straight away by Lorraine & Mike. They provided a safe and family atmosphere. We had a very busy time visiting friends & family while in Kapiti. Lorraine & Mike looked after us, feed us well with the minimum of fuss which enabled us to get on and do things. They were great conversationists and had a good sense of humour. They even let us park our car in their garage for our 2 night stay! We really enjoyed staying with Lorraine and Mike and have already recommended Rosetta House to friends and would stay there again ourselves.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank DEllis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2007

We have spent a very comfortable few days at Rosetta House. We were made very welcome and our host was a fund of information about the area. Thanks to his advice, we saw a delightful production of "The King & I" at Southward Museum. We would not have heard of this otherwise. Michael also directed us to the Staglands Wildlife Reserve, through some beautiful NZ countryside, off the beaten track. He was also able to advise us regarding local cafes, etc. The accommodation at Rosetta House is very comfortable, we slept peacefully and well, and we were able to watch the Rugby World Cup on TV in the snug den upstairs. Raumati's local beaches look good, although we weren't able to visit during the summer unfortunately, and it is close to the railway giving access to Wellington and all that offers. Altogether, a lovely break!
PS For train enthusiasts, the engine design and concept for the mountain train at Featherston (sadly, no longer running) is unique and one not to be missed.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stainedglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We arrived in New Zealand mid afternoon on a July Friday. We rented a car and headed north towards the Kapiti Coast. We had never been to New Zealand before & had little idea of where we were going. We had no accommodation booked, it was dark & we were lost in an unknown town … we turned a corner…..and there it was ….
Rosetta Bed & Breakfast

We pulled in, and, with fingers crossed, knocked on the door …. “Yes, we have room.”
That was when we met Michael & Lorraine, who gave us a warm welcome and an even warmer bed. We had a luggage hiccup at the airport, which, to our surprise, they sorted out for us. They gave us lots of hints and maps on what to see & do …. Local Knowledge is always a big help.
We did a Bird Walk Tour on the Waikanae Estuary which was very enjoyable we would never have found out about on our own.

We ended up staying two wonderful nights, with each day starting with the biggest breakfast, which included homemade jam & home baked bread.

We left for our “unplanned adventure” of the North Island, hoping everywhere else would be as welcoming. Some places came close, but no cigar.

Before tackling the South Island, we decided we needed some pampering & “R&R”, and decided to go back for the last three nights at Rosetta House.. The second stay was even better ….. It was like coming home to old friends.

One night we went with Lorraine & Michael to a Local Amateur Production of “Les Miserable”. We had only ever seen it once before, as a Professional Production in Sydney. This production was so much more enjoyable, with the cast putting there heart and soul into every scene. We were humming the tunes & singing the songs for many days after.

We can highly recommend the B&B as a warm place to be pampered & fussed over, with the best breakfasts, comfortable beds & plenty of places close by, to see or visit.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank sydneyboxhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria australia
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed at Rosetta for three nights in April this year (2007).
It was one of many B&B's we enjoyed throughout New Zealand and one I would highly recommend.
Nothing was too much trouble, Michael and Lorraine arranged ongoing transport and provided helpful information prior to our visit. Barney (dog) and Jess (cat) made our stay complete.

Our room was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. The breakfast table was beautifully set and the abundant breakfast delicious.

We were using public transport throughout our tour and found Rosetta very conveniently located, being on the main bus route and a comfortable, scenic, coastal train ride to Wellington.

It was good to have this convenience out of the bustle of thecity, there is a lovely beach close by and a good choice of local eateries. We can highly recommend the local Indian Restaurant.

Rosetta provides luxury at a reasonable rate, we are looking forward to a return stay.

  • Liked — beautifully appointed and friendly
  • Disliked — I liked everything about Rosetta
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rae48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

We spent 3 nights in the garden suite at Rosetta House in March 2007 -- Michael and Lorraine are wonderful hosts. The bedroom, bath and lounge were spotless and comfy; the breakfast was hearty and yummy. Michael booked our tour to Kapiti Island ( a must see for bird lovers) and directed us to local restaurants within walking distance. And the evening that there was a downpour while we were at dinner, Michael showed up at the restaurant witi an umbrella for us!

  • Liked — Hospitality, comfort, space, location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afton_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2007

Imagine lying in lovely soft sparkling clean sheets being lulled to sleep by the sound of the sea... well that's what we have enjoyed at our two night stay at Rosetta House bed and breakfast. We were sick of city life but didn't want to wander too far off track and friends who had stopped here recommended we try Rosetta House... - this place has it all - sunshine, a lovely garden, great restaurants within a couple of minutes walk (well that's where we went), although our hosts offered to drive us further afield - we were more than happy with the stroll around the corner to the magnificent beach and the Waterfront restaurant where we enjoyed a great steak whilst watching the sun go down on the sea and sand (great photographs - we took heaps) - a brilliant stopover, and hosts who bent over backwards to ensure our stay was perfection. Recommend this spot. Near enough to all attractions but with a country fresh air feel... Michael and Lorraine you are tops - super fun and yet allowing us to relax and enjoy what their B & B offers. We came away feeling totally refreshed, and oh..... those breakfasts!! thanks again. Also Southwards Car Museum is well worth a look....PS the tuis are far nicer to wake up to than crows!.. Rosemary and Paul, Melbourne

  • Liked — sparkling clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — discover the Kapiti Coast, it's warmer than Wellington, and only 50 minutes drive away
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Roseandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2005

Rosetta House is my first B&B experience when I visited Auckland this year in May. Filled with both apprehension and excitement, upon my arrival at Rosetta House and having met Lorraine and Michael, I was glad that I have made the right choice. My compliments to your wonderful hospitality, the beautiful house with well-tamed pets(Jessie & Barney), splendid breakfast & cosy comfortable bed, not forgetting your kindness and friendliness, which makes it a sweet and memorable stay. Moreover their home is near a beach and the neighborhood a peaceful haven with a fine dining restaurant just round the corner.Rosetta House is indeed most commendable!

Helpful?
3 Thank MARGEE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paraparaumu
2.0 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
94 reviews
1.9 mi away
Top Floor Bed and Breakfast
Top Floor Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Paraparaumu
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raumati Sands Resort
Raumati Sands Resort
#1 of 1 in Raumati Beach
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elliott's Kapiti Coast
Elliott's Kapiti Coast
#2 of 6 in Paraparaumu
32 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Sea Rosetta Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Sea Rosetta Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: By the Sea Rosetta Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 349 Rosetta Road | Raumati, Paraparaumu 5032, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Paraparaumu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Paraparaumu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect stopover for the Picton South Island Ferry. Excellent gourmet/cooked breakfast included in tariff. Two luxury suites to choose from in a delightful spacious home set in gardens a few footsteps to our magnificent beach and Romantic Waterfront restaurant. Four golf courses close by, lovely walkways, two bird tours to recommend, picturesque train ride. Relaxing place to spend a few days. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
By The Sea Rosetta Boutique Bed & Breakfast Paraparaumu, Kapiti Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing