We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous way to spend a day”

Kapiti Island Nature Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$286.06*
and up
Overnight Kiwi Spotting Tour on Kapiti Island
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Paraparaumu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kapiti Island is one of New Zealand's most visited places for bird watchers. It is an internationally renowned sanctuary and is blessed with an abundance of native and endangered species like Little Spotted Kiwi, Takahe, and the cheeky Kaka who have not survived so well on the mainland. This nature-inspired setting is the perfect place to experience New Zealand's native birds in their natural environment.Kapiti Island is just 40 minutes north of Wellington, New Zealand's capital city. Activities include half and full day nature tours, overnight Kiwi spotting and rare bird tours. The Maori hospitality you will experience on Kapiti Island - one of New Zealand's most precious nature reserves - is unsurpassed.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous way to spend a day”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a stunning spot on the north end of Kapiti. Nice day walk to a marvellous view. Nice bird life but the pièce de resistance is the lunch at the lodge. Fabulous buffet then an hour amongst Takahe, Kereru, kaka etc. Birds all over the place and not at all timid. Heartily recommend the day trip and keen to go back and stay overnight so we can experience the kiwi.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    48
    8
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nearly got lost”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We sent our Japanese visitors (2 ladies, quite fit) on the North End day tour, which included boat transfers to/from the Island, and lunch. About $189 each. These are their comments. "Good point: lovely view and many birds singing. Bad point: for foreign tourists whole course needs guide otherwise there is the possibility to get lost. The map on the signpost it was hard to understand where we were. It needs more clear illustration and details on the map." Because of poor English a lot of the historical and conservation information was lost to them.
They told me they were happy with the lunch. They said the trip across in the small water taxi boat was bumpy because went too fast and bump hard on small waves.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
2 reviews
“family outing”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Best family outing we've had. Manaaki our guide gave us a delightful chat about what we were about to experience. and gently led us on a short tour before we made for the lookout on the Northern tip to eat our lunch. . Our party of 6 adults and four children,(all under 6yrs) were treated to viewing the Takahe while the cheeky weka and Kaka entertained us while we had afternoon tea. This delightful experience has inspired us to undertake more family adventures,

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“kiwi spotting experience”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed in the tent accomodtaion which was very lovely, and took the overnight kiwi spotting tour
The people on kapati island were very friendly, told us a lot about the island and the conservation status, and advised on best round routes to take for the day.
Did i say again how friendly they were? super! and the food they made was very tasty too! The actual kiwi spotting was cool, and even at 10.30 at night were keen to take us around to go find some more!

i would definately recommend visiting, especially with the abundance of kakas and wekas around the lodge, and the occassional thwump of a wood pigeon. A very memorable experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Literary Tour”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

What a magical day. From the boat trip to the island to arrival back at Paraparaumu. In between we had a very informative talk about the island - history, birds, tracks and plants, followed by coffee and biscuits (if the kaka didn’t grab them). After that we walked a track to a lookout over the northern tip of the island where we looked down over amazing cliffs and rocks. Then back to the lodge where there was a sumptuous lunch with local wines, followed by Lloyd and Steve talking about their writing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapiti Island Nature Tours also viewed

North Island, New Zealand
 
Paraparaumu, Kapiti Coast
 

Been to Kapiti Island Nature Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing