We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kapiti Island day visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kapiti Island Nature Tours

Kapiti Island Nature Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$263.18*
and up
Overnight Kiwi Spotting Tour on Kapiti Island
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Paraparaumu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kapiti Island is one of New Zealand's most visited places for bird watchers. It is an internationally renowned sanctuary and is blessed with an abundance of native and endangered species like Little Spotted Kiwi, Takahe, and the cheeky Kaka who have not survived so well on the mainland. This nature-inspired setting is the perfect place to experience New Zealand's native birds in their natural environment.Kapiti Island is just 40 minutes north of Wellington, New Zealand's capital city. Activities include half and full day nature tours, overnight Kiwi spotting and rare bird tours. The Maori hospitality you will experience on Kapiti Island - one of New Zealand's most precious nature reserves - is unsurpassed.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Kapiti Island day visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We climbed the Trig Track and descended via the Wilkinson Track. The latter was certainly the easier, but the Trig climb had better bush and even more birds. Loved watching the birds (particularly at the feeding stations) - and hearing so many others along the way.
An interesting introduction talk on the island.
A beautiful place that needs to be kept a safe haven for flora and fauna.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    44
    8
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had talked about visiting Kapiti Island for the last couple of years, then when friends from the UK were coming to visit us, we made it happen. We stayed overnight and incorporated a wonderful Kiwi spotting experience as well.
It was the most awesome experience, it is a wonderful island sanctuary, the bush and the bird life is absolutely magnificent, the views from the top of the island were staggering and although it was a bit of a climb to the top, hearing Kokako frequently towards the top and then spotting them on the way down was such a bonus. The bird song around the two feeding stations at Rangitira that day was so loud, we could have sat there for hours.
But what made the trip so special and allowed us to enjoy the birds and the bush were the people that hosted the stay. Each and every one of them were genuinely passionate about the Island, its history and what it had to offer. They were warm and friendly, Nothing was too much trouble, the food was well beyond expectations and the talks were best described as professionally comfortable. Not all technical jargon, but information that we could understand and take in.
It was a perfect experience, the only suggestion we could make would be that you should take Reef Shoes when you go, so that if you want to go for a swim, then you are able to stand up on the round pebbles that form the shore line.
We couldn't recommend a visit to Kapiti Island more highly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kapiti Island Sunset Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

A really great tour. We joined the tour at 5.00pm. It lasted approx 3.5 hrs. Water taxi from Paraparaumu to the Island and back. Was very professionally run with a talk about the family, history of the island and the birds followed by a short walk through the bush. The pride for the Island was obvious throughout the tour. We returned to the Lodge for Fish n chips and there we saw a range of the wildlife at close quarter. Everyone was very welcoming and hospitable and the pride for the Island was obvious throughout the tour. The fish n chips was an understatement of the food offered, paua, warehou, at least 5 different salads, rolls and fruit and watermelon to finish. Great day, great food, great tour.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevt776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kapiti Island Nature Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

It was an evening tour with Fish'nchips . We thoroughly enjoyed the experience from the time we sat down in the boating clubrooms at Paraparaumu at 5pm. It took no more than 15 minutes to get to Kapiti on the watertaxi. We were welcomed by the guides there and took a short walk to the information shelter and learned about the birdlife and history of the Island. We continued our walk and saw some birds and native bush. The sun was shining and it was an easy walk, about half an hour before the group of 14 returned to the lodge.
We were made to feel really welcome by the staff with a drink and snack before we had the meal. The kaka watched, hoping to get some crumbs. We had a water pistol to keep him away. The meal was very nice Gingerbeer battered warehou and a selection of salads and bread rolls. Watermelon and fruit salad for dessert. Before we knew it, it was 8.30pm and it was time to leave. We envied the guests staying the night in comfortable accommodation and planning to see the kiwi at 9.30pm.
When we got back to our car, it felt like we had been on a holiday. Can highly recommend.
Thank you Carolyn

Hi there , agree with most of what my wife has said but thought I would add some of my comments
1 . I thought our guide was very articulate and friendly. The history of the island was particularly interesting. There was probably an expectation that we would see more birds on the walk than we actually did see. In fact we didnt really see all that much- however it was a pleasant walk.
2. The lodge was excellent and the deck and table and view made it quite special. As expected there was more birdlife there and it was quite entertaining and made up for the lack of wildlife on the walk.
The host 'John"(I think his name was) was an excellent host.. The meal was a real surprise as we had just expected fish and chips but this meal was as good as any of the best restaurants in Wellington.
3. The table, seating and general decor was very New Zealandish and I am sure great for tourists. I think it would have been good if there was a brochure about the island and the various trips and accommodation available.If there had been I would have taken quite a few to give to my friends.
4. I enjoyed the experience very much and would highly recommend it.
Rayv

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauatahanui, New Zealand
2 reviews
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

My partner gave me this tour for my birthday and it was brilliant. Very professional and everyone involved were very warm and sincere. We loved every minute of it. The water taxi was fun, no wet feet as they tractor the boat in to the sea from the mainland, and there is a ramp off on the island side. Lovely team. Once we got to Kapiti island we were met by Maanaki who was a charming young man with a wonderful ability to deliver a lot of knowledge about his family farm and the birdlife etc with passion and enthusiasm. John, Susan and Lindsay were wonderful and so welcoming. The 'fish and chips' advertised was actually a wonderful meal with fresh warehou and beautiful salads etc. Prior to this we had relaxed on the deck with paua, cheese and crackers and a hot or cold drink. A beautiful kaka watched us close up. It was a real treat to see the birds including takahe and weka. John also showed us cabins and an amazing tent set up where you can book a night etc. Our 3 hour trip involved very easy strolls but there are other options. 100% fantastic, cant believe it has taken me so long to go there. Jill

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 470Jill_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapiti Island Nature Tours also viewed

North Island, New Zealand
 
Paraparaumu, Kapiti Coast
 

Been to Kapiti Island Nature Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing