We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, tired and tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copperfield Seaside Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Paraparaumu
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Can't sugar coat this review as this property really is in need of refurbishment, particularly on the outside (buildings are particularly grotty). Inside clean and tidy although carpets are in need of replacement and bathroom mirror has seen better days. Friendly hosts although as previously mentioned in reviews stale smoke very evident in reception area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 46 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was a mixed bag - the motel was not what I expected and looked a little different to the pictures I saw on one website but looked true to what I saw on this one. The owner at Reception was welcoming and hospitable on arrival. However, the smell of smoke was very strong in the reception area and up the hallways to our room - very strong and stale. Thankfully though our room did not smell of smoke and was simple, clean although the deocre was a little tired. Really enjoyed the beds and the bedding - very clean and comfortable and the rooms were a decent size. Nice touch with the roses chocolates and paper. I don't think I would pay $145 for a spa bath room but would be OK to have a standard twin room. Nice people who are doing their best but the place does need a bit of a face lift Having said that though - I would stay there again due to the size, cleanliness of bedding and room. Good location - close to everything. Worth a go I think but just have realistic expectations. All the BEST to the owners - nice hardworking people in a tough economic enviroment. THANKS.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a good location - with a tired fitout that needs a major shot in the arm.

Management is warm, friendly and effective - if a tad folksy.

Units are basic - but clean and comfortable.

Sadly they have trucking clients who arrive at all hours - and jolt you from your bed. Purely on this basis I would avoid it like the plague - until they get the trucks to park in the street!

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the driveways
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just one block back from the fabulous beach at Paraparaumu, this motel is in a great location.
The rooms are comfortable, if a little tired. The proprietors are friendly and helpful. Really handy for the shops. There is a restaurant, a coffee shop and a food takeaway in the complex, a pizza place just over the road and other restaurants nearby.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0lympus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed one night at the motel on a drive back to Wellington on a Saturday night. We booked a studio room with a spa. The motel is well located, within easy walking distance of the Paraparam beach shops and restaurants. The receptionist lady was very friendly and showed us to our room. The room was basic, and decor slightly tired, but had everything we needed, including Sky TV and a comfy bed. The Wifi was $6.50 which is a bit frustrating these days, as most places provide it for free, but not the end of the world.

Our main gripe was the excessive noise coming from the adjacent units at the motel. There are tables outside the studio units so other guests congregate right outside your door, and the units are so poorly built that they provide absolutely no protection from the noise from other guests partying it up outside. There are also units upstairs and the floorboards creak and bang when anyone moves about upstairs. We had to put up with some banal drunken chatter and even people playing Lady Gaga out loud on their mobile phone right outside our door until 2am. No action was taken by the hotel management to address this problem.

So, in summary, at $129/night we won't be returning. Shame too, because the location is excellent and the beach area is lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigqueez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a convenient location, walking distance to beach, restaurants and shops. The room was funky. Seemed like they tried to update it recently, but chose really outdated decor. The front of the room had a full wall of windows and was ground floor. To have privacy, it was necessary to close all of the draperies, which made it drab and dark inside. The window in the bathroom also had a view into neighboring apartments. It was fine for one night's stay and was convenient.

There was a great little family-run pizza shop across the street

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Thirteenth Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great location just off the beach at Paraparaumu. Very close to the beach shopping centre, 30 seconds and you are there.
Very helpful in the office.
Perhaps getting a bit tired, but very comfortable
If you whatnot go further afield and eave your car behind there is a very regular bus service right outside

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room, good outlook over the shops toward the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toeneey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paraparaumu hotels
0.2 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
97 reviews
2.6 mi away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#2 of 7 in Paraparaumu
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
#5 of 7 in Paraparaumu
60 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Barnacles Seaside Inn Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copperfield Seaside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copperfield Seaside Motel

Address: 7-13 Seaview Road | Paraparaumu Beach, Paraparaumu 5032, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Paraparaumu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Paraparaumu
Price Range: $72 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copperfield Seaside Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paraparaumu Beach on the Kapiti Coast. Family & pet friendly clean , comfortable Motel. Only minutes from Expressway & Airport. 40 minutes drive to Inter-Island Ferry service. Over 20 eateries, Restaurants, Bars & Cafes within a few minutes walk. Swimming, fishing, boating, skydiving, Kapiti Island Tours, helicopter tours, & more all close by. Short walk to Golf course. Short drive to Southward Car Museum, Marine gardens, Bird Sanctuary & Indoor Aquatic centre. 14 clean comfortable rooms. Studio rooms with spa bath. Wheelchair access rooms with wet floor shower. 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with spa bath. 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with full kitchen. Rooms serviced daily Free Wifi 54 channels Sky Tv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Copperfield Seaside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wellington
Wellington Best Western
Copperfield Seaside Motel Paraparaumu, Kapiti Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing