We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paraparaumu
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We had always wanted to visit Kapiti Island and this seemed a convenient place to stay. It's a typically Kiwi Motel style, run by a nice family. The price was right, the room was comfortable, the breakfast was nice and (most importantly) the hosts were friendly and efficient. An enjoyable stay only minutes walk from the beach.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bimroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 98 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Business brought us to Paraparam, otherwise there seems little reason to visit this neck of the woods. Some of the accommodation here is not too flash and really Wrights by the Sea was a compromise. The publicity of this palace presents new and clean but in reality it is a little congested and worn. Its not bad mind. It is clean and reasonably well presented, just all a bit dated and jaded. Ok for the quick business stop, but keep moving!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is not a flash motel, at all. The rooms are very basic and in need of a spruce up and the driveway will tear up the underside of your car as you drive out. What is good is the location and the price. I was also impressed that we could book in a few hours earlier than normal. So, if you need somewhere cheap and cheery on the Kapiti Coast this could be it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We spent 3 great nights at Wrights by the Sea. The room was very clean and comfortable and was serviced each day with clean towels, bathroom and kitchen supplies etc. Even though we were in a studio unit it had a nice 2 seater couch which is a real bonus and a little balcony also. Altho the Motel is not on the beach front it is a very short walk to the beach and the Paraparaumu Beach shopping centre. This is a great spot for a break away :).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Wendy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip in September. My room was on the lower level behind a staircase. There was not a lot of natural light coming in so it felt a bit dingy. It was very dated and run down. My room was a bit dusty, so I found myself using a lot of travel wipes to tidy up counter tops and other surfaces. It is likely just my travel style, but unfortunately I couldn't get comfortable and was relieved I only stayed one night. The hotel is in a good location, just a short walk to the beautiful beach, restaurants, etc. I agree with other reviewers, the owners are nice and friendly people.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank CrowFlyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Wrights by the Sea in early 2013. The proprietors were very friendly and helpful, answering all our questions and fulfilling all our requests. The room was very comfortable and the location is excellent. We will certainly stay there again when next in Paraparaumu.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Efrat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just around the corner from the beach, with views across to Kapiti Island, this was a lovely location. There are lots of restaurants in walking distance.

The staff were friendly, and the place was clean, and included a microwave, sink, and some crockery and cutlery, but it was a little bit dated. I found the bed a bit lumpy - one side was better to sleep on than the other, but the blankets/covers were very thick and cosy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinaWasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paraparaumu
2.6 mi away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#1 of 7 in Paraparaumu
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
#5 of 7 in Paraparaumu
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copperfield Seaside Motel
Copperfield Seaside Motel
#6 of 7 in Paraparaumu
46 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
4.7 mi away
Kapiti Gateway Motel
Kapiti Gateway Motel
#2 of 2 in Waikanae
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrights by the Sea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrights by the Sea Motel

Address: 387 - 389 Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu 5032, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Paraparaumu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Paraparaumu
Price Range: $84 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrights by the Sea Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location on the Kapiti Coast just 200 meters from the beach, golf club, cafes, restaurants and bars Great interisland stop over north and south bound 35 minutes to the ferry terminal Free Unlimited WiFi 50+ Sky digital Freshly renovated warm units with air conditioning in some units Awesome down to earth hosts Kapiti Island Tours by arrangement Conference Facility available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Wrights by the Sea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrights By The Sea Motel Paraparaumu, Kapiti Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing