We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sensational sugoi sushi”
Review of Sugoi Sushi

Sugoi Sushi
Ranked #14 of 26 Restaurants in Te Awamutu
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“sensational sugoi sushi”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Well worth a visit, take away or eat in. Best sushi in New Zealand, they all come highly recomended particularly sweet chilli chicken and teryaki chicken

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KIWITRAVELLERS343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I love love love this place the best sushi in nz not to mention the awesome friendly service . Would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huntsman844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Te Awamutu's first Sushi bar/café is still the best. Although I always take-out for Sushi, this time we sat in...The service was typically Japanese - i.e. the very best. The waitress was so helpful and friendly and our orders were taken without any fuss.

The food arrived quickly and was fresh and tasty. The Messo soup absolutely superb. I can eat Sushi all day, so it was with a heavy heart and stomach that I lefty with. This Sushi Bar is famous around the Waipa region and can get busy with foot traffic take out @ morning tea/lunchtime so try to get a table towards the front end by the opposite wall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A cheery welcome and delicious sushi”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Te Awamutu along with other Waikato towns is fortunate to have a good selection of sushi restaurants and lunch places. Sugoi Sushi is our favourite in TA. Whenever you go in there, there is a cheery welcome which is reminiscent of when you go into a restaurant in Japan where the Japanese say "irraishaimase" which means "welcome". The sushi selection is fantastic and reasonably priced. We love going there for lunch and enjoying a cup of green tea with the sushi. Going there shows you how sushi has become such a mainstream dish for ALL types of kiwis. It is not a lunch place that might appeal only to women but to EVERYONE. Highly recommended and delicious sushi. Even when you leave you are bid farewell so nice atmosphere and you are served the tea personally after ordering it. A+++

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tealovers-unanimous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi and a great range”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is one of the best sushi takeaways I have visited in New Zealand. Such a great range of sushi and you can mix and match what you want to try. The sweet chilli chicken and teriyaki chicken sushi I tried tasted so good. Exceptional service as well - such a great find in Te Awamutu. I will definately be back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank insertnamehere26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugoi Sushi also viewed

Te Awamutu, Waikato Region
 
Te Awamutu, Waikato Region
Te Awamutu, Waikato Region
 

Been to Sugoi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing