We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosetown Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Te Awamutu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosetown Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Te Awamutu
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family and extended family stayed here and it was absolutely wonderful as was the rooms and the service we received. Prior to going to Te Awamutu I was in contact with Cheryl over our requirements as we had a family function in town and there were 6 family's that were coming from Auckland and Rotorua. Cheryl was great accommodated us all and even where one big family needed a double unit we were given the option of two rooms at a discounted price. When we got there we were welcomed by Cheryl's lovely sister and she made sure everything was ready for us. She told us to use the BBQ pull it out into the courtyard if we wanted and if we needed to swap dishes around from room to room we could do that and they would just put them back in the morning, she really made us feel like we were at home it was great!!!! Lovely stay wish it could of been for longer next time I'm in TA I will stay here again for sure and I would recommend this accommodation to anyone that wants to be in a home away from home LOVELY!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papspay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your comments. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the Rosetown Motel and that my sister took good care of you whilst I was away. It is lovely to see families getting together and taking advantage of the facilities we have to offer as our aim is to provide that home away from home atmosphere where everyone can relax and have a good time. I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

With the help of the owner of the Albert Park Motel we arrived at the Rosetown. We received a lovely welcome from Cheryl and felt at home straight away. The unit was very comfortable with everything we needed.Cheryl was also kind enough to book our next Motel, which was a great help. I can not recommend The Rosetown Motel too highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Jan it was so nice to see you when you arrived and I am pleased you found everything to your satisfaction. It is always nice to meet new people and be able to provide them with a warm and friendly welcome and do everything we can to make the journey a pleasant experience. I hope you enjoyed the next motel and you had a great trip back home. Hope to see you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a long day driving this was a welcome stop. Very welcoming, helpful and obliging hostess (we needed a freezer and she let us use hers). The unit was very clean and had all the items needed to be self sufficient. Would be a great spot from which to base oneself while seeing the region

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cleonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to post a comment on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that our motel met your expectations and we managed to keep your frozen goods in tact for another day. I hope they arrived home in perfect condition. It was fun chatting to you and comparing bucket lists - who knows, we may meet again on one of the journeys we plan to do. Enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

It is easy to see why this motel is "#1 of 2 motels in Te Awamutu." Very comfortable beds and fully functional kitchen for those light meals self prepared.
We were a party of 4 this time. Kids were in tow. Murphy's Law, we needed a room the same weekend as motels in the area were heavily booked due to a rowing regatta.
However, we were placed in a one bedroom unit with a rollaway bed in a corner of the dining area. Suited our needs perfectly.
But we were changed to a two bedroom unit halfway through our stay. All we had to do was pack our stuff and the motel staff sorted out the changing of rooms whilst we were out and about. Talk about amazing service.

The showers are hot, beds are amazingly comfortable and come with two pillows per person (a lot of motels only give you one each which is never enough and I end up always having to ask for more). Bedside lamp on each side of the queen size bed. The kitchens are fully kitted out and the rooms are all very clean. Plenty of soft fluffy towels. Flat screen TVs with plenty of channels to choose from.

I didn't really notice the road noise as the rooms seem quite quiet once you close them up for the night.

Hosts friendly as always. I really recommend this motel for a good nights rest if you are in the area. Looking forward to our next stay here whenever that might be :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devil_n_Disquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our motel. It is always interesting to see what guests expect and appreciate when they are staying away from home. The quality of the linen, the home comforts like bedside lamps and extra pillows etc are high on your list and I am pleased that we met your expectations. I do look forward to seeing you on your next visit where you will be very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Correze
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a lovely little motel. An excellent welcome and very helpful owners. Little swimming pool was very welcome after a long day motorcycling !!
The only downside s the noisy road. It s a dairy town and the milk tankers pass day and night .

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the road as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamL48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. You looked to be having such fun on your biking tour and I hope the rest of your ride was fun filled and exciting. I can imagine that the swimming pool was very welcoming after a long day traveling, especially in the hot summer days that we have been experiencing.
Your advice to others to ask for a unit away from the road is commended. We will do everything we can to meet guests requests. It is a pity we can't do anything about the milk tanker activity. However it does slow down considerably when the cows go dry, which makes the road a lot quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

rosetown motel te awamutu my husband and i stay there on every visit its very friendly staff comfortable beds. we have only had one problem out of 7 stays there and that was this year we found dirty frypan in cupboard which was promptly replaced with a clean frypan. we will be back to te awamutu from perth western australia in february and look forward to staying again at rosetown.

Room Tip: the best rooms are the ones on same side as the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 94penelope94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments and the opportunity for us to improve our service.

As part of their duties, our regular cleaning staff check that all utensils, dishes and appliances are clean and in the correct place. On this occasion a casual person was cleaning the units and overlooked the offending article. Of course she felt very embarrassed and contrite and apologised most sincerely to the guest.

I am sorry that our valuable visitors were offended and will do my utmost to see that it never happens again.

On their next visit we look forward to the opportunity to provide the standard of service that they have experienced in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a great motel! We'd selected it based on excellent Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We were traveling from Auckland overnight to take a Waitomo Adventures abseiling tour. The Roseway motel is about a 20-30 minute drive from Waitomo and a great base for visiting the area - especially since motels nearer Waitomo are not well reviewed.

We stayed in a Queen room at the Roseway. The room was really spacious with a thoughtful floor plan. There is a kitchenette to one side with everything that you need to self-cater simple meals. Small fridge, microwave, electric frypan, hobs, kettle, pots/pans, dishware, sink, cleaning up supplies. There is a small table with three chairs to the side. All of this is in an area with linoleum flooring (nice! - I like to see non-porous flooring in cooking and bathroom areas). In the corner is a small flat screen TV with SKY that can be viewed from any position in this 'main' room. There is also a small fan heater for colder months.

To the other side is carpet with a single bed, two comfortable chairs, ottoman, and reading lamp.

The queen bed is in a separate bedroom with a door that closes. The bedroom has two bedside tables with lamps, a heating pad on the bed (thank you!!), TWO pillows each (thank you!!), a large easily accessible closet with hangers, and a luggage rack (thank you!!). It is an easy space to unpack and spend an extended period of time or to place your belongings temporarily for a short stay.

The bathroom is large with a toilet separated from the main bath by a sliding pocket door, a sink with vanity, and modern shower. There are places to place your belongings on the vanity. The shower was newer and had lots of hot water and plenty of water pressure. And there was a separate rack for hand and bath towels - a little thing, but a nice thing.

Good quality towels and bedding were provided.

The kitchenette and bathroom were slightly outdated but the rest of the furnishings in the room were more modern than I would normally expect of a motel in this price range. Everything was clean and in excellent repair.

The main room and bedroom both have blackout curtains and so - with the bathroom door closed (to keep out the light from the bathroom windows), the entire room is dark enough for a comfortable sleep.

The construction is open timber, with high ceilings and visible rafters. The walls are cinder block. The high ceilings give the room an even more spacious feel than offered by the generous floor plan.

Outside in front is a covered patio with two chairs and small table.

The motel itself is just off a main road but situated perpendicular rather than parallel to the road - which cuts traffic noises significantly. Moreover, the cinder block construction dampens both outside noise and noise between units. It was very quiet; we heard the odd truck pass by if we listened closely but not otherwise.

The motel is a short drive to town centre where there are some nice places to eat (check out the Redoubt pub).

If I had to really niggle, I could complain that the faucets on the bathroom sink were not long enough to reach over the deep part of the sink and so were a bit awkward to use. But they were still useable. My only other request is to provide small bars of bath soap instead of (or in addition to) the provided bath gel; this is personal preference and not a complaint.

Indeed, this room is near-perfect for the price. Clean, quiet, comfortable, spacious, well furnished, and comfortable for overnight as well as multi-day stays. Great front office staff as well - friendly and welcoming.

This motel is excellent value for your hard-earned money. Recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robcol2, Owner at Rosetown Motel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are very grateful when people take the time to comment on our motel and of course we love the positive comments.

However the advice of how we can do better is really appreciated as well. I thought everyone was into the modern shower gels, but there are still some of us who like the good old fashion cake of soap and I have now added them to the bathroom amenities. The fitting of new bathrooms in all the units is still on the bucket list and then we will have more modern taps.

I am very pleased that you had such a pleasant experience whilst staying with us and the unit suited your needs. If you visit us again, please ask for the newly upgraded unit which is even better than the one you stayed in and has a new bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Awamutu
21.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matariki Motor Lodge
Matariki Motor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Te Awamutu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
ASURE Albert Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
17.9 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
15.0 mi away
Argent Motor Lodge
Argent Motor Lodge
#1 of 64 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosetown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosetown Motel

Property: Rosetown Motel
Address: 844 Kihikihi Road, Te Awamutu 3800, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Awamutu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Te Awamutu
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing