We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the Details Given”
Review of Park Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Te Awamutu
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I could not agree more with the other reviews. Luckily we arrived in the afternoon so could see the units and grounds in daylight. The kitchen was just a cupboard and the room dark and dingy. When I looked for the swimming pool the stairs to it were overgrown with weeds and the pool looked as if it had not been used in years. To this end we refused to stay and found another motel Please, Please do not book in there. I have requested that this motel be removed from the AA Tourism Brochure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 30 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

I wish I had read this site before.
When I booked mid week, I asked about the beds, I was assured the the bed's were great and would stand up to scrutiny. Big Failure!
We were tired after the 7 hours drive and didn't think to check the bed 1st. Service was without grace as it came at the end of a chase.
Finally after a sleepless night the sun rose to expose to a wasp swarm outside our room. I am limited by characters to relay the jaw dropping events that lead to our checking out a day early and my sitting here dry eyed after the long drive home. Badly Fatigued. $109 a night is highway robbery.

Room Tip: It was quiet between 12 and 5 am. Avoid room 6. No value for money. Do not stay there if you are loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Totally agree with Jean G comments - only wish I had read these before booking. Cleanliness not up to standard. Whole complex very tired and needs upgrading.
Kitchen utensils and appliances could have come from a garage sale.Tea towels with holes, bath towels thin and bath mats frayed. Swimming pool not operating despite 25 degree temp.
Noisy at night as on main Hamilton highway and thin walls.
Tired, old 1970's oufit masquerading as an up to date 2012 motel - $50 per night may have been acceptable...not double this
Surprised that the AA has any association with this motel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The office smelt of dogs and cooking. It is very shabby and tired. The room was marginally better. It seems we were lucky in that the shower and toilet were clean. However we couldn't decide whether the sheets/pillowslips had been used or simply not been ironed - hopefully the later. The bed was comfortable and new. The carpet was filthy and the whole place needed a thorough clean or better still, renovating. Parking was tight and luckily the people in the next unit didn't have a car. AA needed to look at its site before advertising places of this standard. It was very expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place was the pits. Went to hop into bed and found black pubic hair on the sheets. Not one hair but five....argh !!!
The shower moved whilst you washed and the soap holder had blue soap scum which looked as though it had been there awhile.
Add to that NO free internet and the $$$$$$$ we paid were so not worth the angst it caused.
I would have preferred to sleep by a river or in the car.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Right on main highway and you hear trucks all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Tired is a compliment for this place. A terrible mistake for my last night in NZ. $108 for 1 night in a family room. It has no endearing qualities, you have to pay for internet access (only motel in NZ to charge me) and is thoroughly depressing.

What a way to end a great trip!

This place should be either condemned, closed or turned into a homeless shelter.

Room Tip: Insist on seeing your room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pooley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed at this motel for 1 night this week and obviously I should have checked out TripAdvisor first! Dirty, no lightbulb in the bathroom and traffic going by 24/7. Woken at 5.30am by the traffic noise and that was the end of my sleep. I definitely felt like the bed had undesirable inhabitants!
Also, EQC should check this motel out as when heavy trucks go by, there is definite movement - I felt like I was still in Christchurch!
I would definitely not recommend this motel and will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Just don't even go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Awamutu
21.4 mi away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rosetown Motel
Rosetown Motel
#1 of 2 in Te Awamutu
43 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cicada Motel
Cicada Motel
#7 of 7 in Te Awamutu
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
No. 1 Motels
No. 1 Motels
#4 of 8 in Cambridge
49 reviews
19.1 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
95 reviews
18.9 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lodge Motel

Address: 387 Ohaupo Road, Te Awamutu 3800, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Awamutu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Te Awamutu
Price Range: $64 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Park Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing