We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT SERVICE, COMFORTABLE ACCOMMODATION”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tokoroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clifton Court Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Tokoroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT SERVICE, COMFORTABLE ACCOMMODATION”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had booked a 2 bedroom unit for 4 of us, and when we arrived they offered us 2 x 1 bedroom units for the same price, which was excellent. They were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and tidy, and they are in the process of renovating the units.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
17
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Levin New
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had to travel to Tokoroa recently for a family bereavement. We had been advised that this motel had renovated its units so we decided to stay there. We were not disappointed and found our unit of the highest standard and very comfortable. We were initially worried about traffic noise but because the new windows were double glazed this did not eventuate. The only minor criticism was the lack of a kitchen sink to wash the dishes and maybe another towel rail in the bathroom. All though our stay was not the happiest occasion because of the bereavement we were quite happy with our motel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy W, Manager at Clifton Court Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your comments . I hope that next time you stay with us it is under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at this motel a couple of times, initially just went with the room that was offered which was old & outdated.
However the next time we stayed in the renovated units at the back which we're excellent.
Clean, comfortable with huge Tv & music system.
Breakfast can be ordered the previous evening, although this motel is right on the main road with many fast food hints around & a few cares.
I would not recommend any restaurants which are worth trying out.
All in all a very handy location with good service and clean comfortable rooms

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkpepper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights while touring NZ. Extremely clean,comfortable and well furnished. We have stayed in 'posh' hotels costing a lot more and not enjoyed this level of luxury. Strongly recommended. The staff, like all Kiwis, were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sondy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we had to attend a tangi (funeral) in Tokoroa. I had to book accommodation quickly but didn't know where to start. Clifton Court Motel had the best reviews. I rang the motel and the host Colin was very warm and friendly. They called me as they were able to move us into one large unit to reduce costs.

The accommodation is very basic but clean. The host was awesome and the motel was very close to the venue.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

As part of my life work experiences, when I was a very young fella I drove logging trucks in the Kinlieth forest for about 8 yrs and my father for over thirty years. A truckers and bush contractors Kinlieth reunion was organize for this particular weekend so we booked into the Clifton Court Motel for two nights.
We had originally booked three but ended up with another long time logging contractor and mate staying with us at very short notice. In fact we told them the next day as it was so late. Colin and Wendy were both easy going people and went with the flow. They ensured that are needs were catered for. Our rooms were getting a bit dated but were very clean and had all the basics there. The room noise from the main road….. well we never noticed it. There is plenty of parking there and they have just recently revamped a couple of rooms that look fantastic – so they have a revamp program in place. I can see that there is plenty of safe room for the kids to run around on the back large paddock.
I enjoyed the free internet which is important if you have a 24/7 business to keep an eye on. Overall this motel is a great little spot to stop for a few days in Tokoroa and explore the district area. Such as Putaruru’s timber museum or Whakamaru dam, if you want more tips on stuff to see in the area just ask for Colin and Wendy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike and Annema... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We booked one of the new back rooms after reading on trip advisor that the front rooms can be a bit noisy due to the traffic on state highway one. The unit was really nice and fairly new. It had everything we needed in it plus. Breakfast was great too. Would highly recommend staying here

Room Tip: Ask for a back room quieter than the front units
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaylett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokoroa
1.3 mi away
Amisfield Motel
Amisfield Motel
#3 of 7 in Tokoroa
10 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Alpha Homestead
#6 of 7 in Tokoroa
2 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lake Maraetai Lodge
Lake Maraetai Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mangakino
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Court Motel

Property: Clifton Court Motel
Address: 111 Main Road | State Highway 1, Tokoroa 2392, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Tokoroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tokoroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you need accommodation in Tokoroa, we would love you to stay with us. All of the units at Clifton Court Motel have been completely renovated back to new, with new furnishings and large flat screen TV's, Apple TV & FREE Netflix. Both business and family travellers can expect to find an option to suit, with our spacious, ground floor, smoke free units at affordable prices. Choose from Standard or Family Rooms all with Queen Size beds, tea and coffee facilities & FREE Ultra Fast Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi). The recent addition of our executive units offer the most discerning traveller that extra night of luxury and comfort. The South Waikato region is rich with wonderful natural attractions, all within easy access from Tokoroa. Clifton Court Motel is conveniently located on State Highway 1, only a short walk from the town centre, restaurants, cinema and sporting facilities. We strive to make your stay an enjoyable one, and look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing