We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amisfield Motel

Amisfield Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amisfield Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Tokoroa B&B and Inns
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I booked this motel before reading the reviews, and tried to cancel. So glad I didn't. The two bed roomed unit was spacious and comfortable. The lounge was so huge, I was able to hold a business meeting there. The kitchen was fully equipped with a good supply of quality tea and coffee sachets, and fresh milk. The unit came with a 50cm wall TV, its own washing machine/laundry area and the bathroom like the rest of the layout was very spacious. At $123.00 pn, sleeping six - this represented value for money. The owner Karen was friendly and helpful, calling me back with instructions when we got lost.What was a bit off was the flies that seemed to be plaguing all of Tokoroa - not just the motel.Could be a seasonal thingy. I'm going back again as I was impressed.Only thing missing...WIFI!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade during low - mid season
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ealing
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Booked by work, I checked in with a certain amount of trepidation, but the owner is friendly, and if you get one of the newly renovated rooms pretty good. Large flat screen, basic kitchen facilities, internet if wanted & clean. It is a bit spartan, but not overly so, and a darn sight quieter than the other motels that are nearer State Highway 1. Could do with a spare blanket for colder nights, but beds fitted with electric blanket.

Room Tip: Just ask for a renovated one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We constantly ran out of hot water, there were flies for which we had to buy fly spray and I am pretty sure our unit was previously for smokers as I could smell smoke in the bedding. We had to buy our own milk and there was very little furniture. We were moved from one unit to the only one right next to the reception which had it's outside light on ALL night and this kept me awake. For a double bed with no kitchenette and a small table we paid $103 per night. I wouldn't pay this amount in my home town which is a major city. The service was mediocre at best

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller11255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
485 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

First impressions were not good, and neither was the second. First in took (literally) weeks before i got response regards availability. They claimed they had a computer malfunction. When I did arrive (in person), the receptionist was more intent on talking on her cell phone than advising me of my room. I got a key (the wrong one) thrust at me, and sent packing (whilst still conversing on the phone). It is the very first time I had to purchase my own milk, which meant another four liometer journey into town. The motel is probably the most distant one from Tokoroa itself.
The furniture (very simple at that) was so highly polished, my suitcase virtually slid off the dresser, and my laptop, slid all over the table.
Walls are very basic cinder block. Many basics were also missing, like a guest manual; sink plug or, for that matter any dishwashing utensils (other than a tea towel).
I would not bother going back there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokoroa
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Alpha Homestead
#6 of 7 in Tokoroa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
10.7 mi away
Lake Maraetai Lodge
Lake Maraetai Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mangakino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
19.1 mi away
Okoroire Hot Springs Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amisfield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amisfield Motel

Property: Amisfield Motel
Address: 22 Lochmaben Road, Tokoroa 3420, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Tokoroa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tokoroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amisfield Motel sits on approximately 2 acres and has 7 ground-floor motel units which comprises of: 2 x two-bedroom family units which can sleep up to 6 people with full kitchen facilities. 2 X semi-studio units (open plan) which can sleep up to 4 people with kitchen facilities. 2 X studio units which can sleep up to 2 people with tea/coffee and microwave facilities. 1 Large studio unit (separate master bedroom) sleeps up to 3 with tea/coffee/microwave facilites. While each motel unit has its own configuration, we can alter this to cater to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amisfield Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing