We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood Chowder” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drunken Sailor Cafe

Drunken Sailor Cafe
Ranked #8 of 9 Restaurants in Bluff
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups, New Zealand
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Wanneroo, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Seafood Chowder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

It is some years since last dining at this restaurant. Very little, apart from the owner has changed. I note some review/s have mentioned the hours of opening, or lack of. This can probably be best explained due to the geograpgical location. Bluff having a small population (<3000) is some 24klm from Invercargill. For out of towners to visit the restaurant in the evening would involve a long drive there and back. Having written all this we had a very pleasant dining experience sampling the seafood chowder - an excellent dish with the right mix of ingredients and consistency accompanied by crusty bread. The slight negative was the sping onion string garnish placed on top. Overall a value for $ meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rakiura1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Something is missing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Firstly let me just say I do like it here, the food is lovely, such a great selction of meals, the fish dishes that I saw coming out of the kitchen looked amazing and the other diners looked liked they were enjoying their meals.

I had the battered blur cod and chips, very nicely cooked, the chips were coated in a great season and the salad was fresh and also very tasty. I thought all the meals were reasonable priced.

The service is more than adequate, and I found the staff to be vrey friendly.

However I do feel they are trading on their location, the views are stunning, good or bad weather every table offers a blinding view of the sea. And I think because of the views they haven't tried in the resuarant with the decor, tables and chairs and crockery being extremely plain and I find there is no atmosphere in the place.

Saying that for the views alone I would go back, but only between 11.30 and 4.00 pm, which are daft opening times, you can't actually have an evening meal at The Drunken Sailor!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JandDinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany ny
Level Contributor
192 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

A bit pricey but what in New Zealand is not. The mussels and steak sandwich were very good and the service was ok. Nice water views.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AEboylston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not their fault”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

I had an accident entering restaurant, and staff were sort of not worried. Had to take a taxi to Invercargill to hospital. Yes I did have broken bones.

Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth the detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Wonderful food, great ambience and amazing views. One of the highlights of our trip to the South island! Thouroughly recommend a visit if you are in the vicinity.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drunken Sailor Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Drunken Sailor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing