We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning”
Review of Lands End

Lands End
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Bluff
Price range: $7 - $26
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I work on the road and therefore have visited restaurants, bars and hotels around the entire country. I have experienced a variety of food options, accommodations and, having worked in fine dining previously, I am discerning in regards to customer service standards. When you meet hosts like Simon and James though, it's hard not to be inspired; by their obvious passion and dedication to both their project and the people who come through the door, by their commitment to showcase fresh, local produce, and by the flair for interior design and decoration evident in the setting. I worked in hospitality for 6 years, and, although I love my career immensely, sitting at Land's End watching the world go by made me want to spend a LOT more time there. This spot can't be beaten for a romantic dinner, a special occasion, a great coffee or a social platter along with a glass of fantastic New Zealand wine. I didn't stay the night, but they showed me into the rooms upstairs, and I was very impressed. I have already booked my parents in for Mum's birthday in May, and I know she's going to love it! I know for sure I will be back to visit again, and will be looking forward to it. Thanks!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views with food and wine to match”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We travelled to Bluff to view the scenery and happened upon this newly renovated and recreated B&B and restaurant. The food was lovely and fresh, though there was a worthwhile wait. The service was very friendly and we would recommend this to our friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delightful, charming atmosphere, newly renovated with gorgeous hosts”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this fabulous boutique guesthouse and restaurant at the end of our touring holiday in the South Island. We were welcomed by the hosts as if we were old friends. Our interest was sparked by an article in paper celebrating the recent opening of their guesthouse and decided to pop in for supper. We were impressed by the attention to every detail. Their boutique style is coupled with a lot of thought and effort with the menu and wine list and we were not disappointed. NZ is known for its boutique accommodation, food and wine and this is up there with the best.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views with food to match!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Located in Bluff on the southern tip of the South Island, Lands End Bistro has a quaint sea cottage feel reminiscent of it's namesake.

With the full dinner menu only available Thurs-Sat to focus on fresh food, our Sunday arrival did not leave us disappointed as a variety of platters were still available. Settling on pizza, our attention was consumed by unique ocean waves forming over the sandbar and food was served before we knew it. With pizza bring a favorite of mine this gourmet style takes the cake, worth traveling to one of the southern most restaurants in the world for.

Definitely a must if you are traveling in New Zealand!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lands End also viewed

 
Bluff, South Island
 

Been to Lands End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing