We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Coffee But slow service this weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Workmans Cafe Bar

Workmans Cafe Bar
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Matamata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Workman's café is a fun friendly environment that happily serves great coffee and fresh local food five days and nights a week, we take pride in what we do and how we present ourselves. Great comfy chairs, great sounds, fab ambiance, and good looking staff all help to provide an experience we hope you will enjoy . Cheers Syd
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Coffee But slow service this weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

There were a few visual clues that made think this place was worth checking out for brunch and it was.

Food was good and tasty, but it was very slow to come out. I presume this was due to it being Easter Weekend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jubes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    65
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Matamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular Host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a dining experience not to be missed. Syd, the host, is a very friendly and bubbly person and will make you feel like you are his personal guest. Lovely food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thelaw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

enjoyed the selection of GF lunch choices .Will be having lunch there more often, always entertaining service from Syd.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Not so impressed as on the last few visits.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Workman's is like our local when we are in Matamata and we love it. Over the past month (March) we would have been three times and have not been so impressed with the food as usual. The first time was dinner with friends (local people) and we found the menu somewhat over the top, there were lots of add ons and to many things going on the plate. The food was nice but over complicated where as it used to be about the fish not all the extra stuff under in or on it and you lose the taste. The second time was the same with so many dishes offered on top of the menu, by the time the waitress was done telling us the specials we forgot the first option. My partner had a beef and kumara salad and the meat was tough and tasteless??? Not the usual standard.
Please go back to how you were over the past 18mth we have enjoyed the fantastically cooked fish, fresh flavour as less is often best. We will be back because we love this place and the service is tops but miss the clean fresh tastes of your food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cambarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great choice, worth a bit of a detour even”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had dinner (steak with mashed potatoes) at Workman's and were very pleased with the quality. It really stands out as one of the best spots on the central North Island. Came here in January and were back in February but unfortunately the chef was out for an emergency so we couldn't repeat the experience yet. We will try again.

We had our infant son with us, and the staff went out of their way to make sure our dining experience was good. They brought his food first, and provided lots of toys to entertain him while we were having our dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrederikVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Workmans Cafe Bar also viewed

Matamata, Waikato Region
 
Matamata, Waikato Region
Matamata, Waikato Region
 
Matamata, Waikato Region
Matamata, Waikato Region
 

Been to Workmans Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing