We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Private outdoor spa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private outdoor spa
Your own private garden area The lounge and kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Private outdoor spa
Your own private garden area
The lounge and kitchen area
View from your B&B
The lounge looking towards your bedroom with sliding door out to garden area
Large modern bathroom
Beautiful feijoa flower in bloom (November)
Feijoa fruit hanging on our trees (March-May)
Part of the feijoa orchard that the B&B is situated on.
Your friendly hosts - a family run business
Sustainable Biological Origin = Southern Belle Orchard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Matamata, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melany B
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place!!!”
Reviewed December 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed only 1 night, it's highly recommended to stay here for a couple of night. It's just perfect and being in an orchard away from the city is calming. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming.

With breakfast they provide come with a feijoa jam which is a nice touch.

The place is very clean, well furnished with a kitchen area.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in an orchard, calming.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherrG...
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Homebase while visiting Middle Earth”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved staying here! It was a great home base for our family as we explored the central part of the North Island, NZ. Frans and Tineke are very welcoming and provide an excellent spread (prepare on your own) for breakfast and great recommendations of places to eat and things to do in the region. The Hobbiton Movie set is a short 10 minute drive away & well worth the admission. Frans recommended hiking a local waterfall - definitely do it! Both will fill your day & leave you time for a good dinner and a relaxing soak in their hot tub under the milky way.

Breakfast is a self-served affair, but provides plenty of options: bread, jam, butter, eggs, yogurt, cheese, muslix, and milk. We never left for the day with empty bellies and often returned with enough left over for a late evening snack.

You'll love the Feijoa jam - something that was totally new to us! Unfortunately we were visiting during the off-season, so we didn't have a chance to try a fresh piece of this interesting fruit.

Frans and Tineke do a wonderful job making you feel at home. Knowing we had 2 teenage boys traveling with us, they went out of their way to provide separate sleeping accommodations for them - a pull out couch and roll-away bed were both made up and ready for our arrival.

We'd certainly stay there again (a family of 4: 2 adults & 2 teens) and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone looking for a quaint place to stay while visiting Middle Earth. We hope to return & will recommend this to friends who will be traveling down under in the near future.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The breakfast and location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIJan
Christmas Island
1 review
“Exceptional B & B”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Great place to stay, the B&B is everything you could want, the hosts are very friendly and helpful. Wonderful breakfast, there was enough for part of lunch as well. We would return here for sure and recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallyr323
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hot Tub under the Milky Way”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a fab place. 4 of us stayed 2 nights and felt so looked after; the breakfast was great, the Feijoa Jam is a must, it was still spacious with 4 of us and the hot tub under the stars was just an amazing experience. Thank you Emily

Date of stay: June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slhirst
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Friendly, accommodating guests and charming comfortable stay!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed here as a part of the Hobbiton package in November. We had a fantastic time. Beautiful spot, extremely friendly and accommodating hosts, and lovely food. Great stay overall!

Date of stay: November 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snoopchuc...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Well-furnished apartment and friendly hosts”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Despite only having time to stay there for one night, it was a very comfortable stay. They make their own feijoa jam which we had for breakfast (so tasty that we bought our own!). Too bad the weather was too cold for a dip in the hot pool/jacuzzi located outdoors. Love the thick bath towels! Not something you get often, and that includes certain hotels.

The impromptu greenhouse visit was also most educational.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thick bath towels
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheesh87
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good and Cosy accommodation”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

It was a nice apartment and we were well taken care of by our friendly hosts. breakfast was hearty with home made Feijoa jam, cereal, bread, ham and eggs! Accommodation is private and deep in their farm. There's also a hot spa pool right outside under the stars.

Location was superb and just a short drive to the Shire's tour.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosy feel of the apartment
Liked least: rollout bed
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing