We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well-furnished apartment and friendly hosts”
other travelers have booked this property
Private outdoor spa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private outdoor spa
Your own private garden area The lounge and kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Private outdoor spa
Your own private garden area
The lounge and kitchen area
View from your B&B
The lounge looking towards your bedroom with sliding door out to garden area
Large modern bathroom
Beautiful feijoa flower in bloom (November)
Feijoa fruit hanging on our trees (March-May)
Part of the feijoa orchard that the B&B is situated on.
Your friendly hosts - a family run business
Sustainable Biological Origin = Southern Belle Orchard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Matamata, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
snoopchuc...
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Well-furnished apartment and friendly hosts”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Despite only having time to stay there for one night, it was a very comfortable stay. They make their own feijoa jam which we had for breakfast (so tasty that we bought our own!). Too bad the weather was too cold for a dip in the hot pool/jacuzzi located outdoors. Love the thick bath towels! Not something you get often, and that includes certain hotels.

The impromptu greenhouse visit was also most educational.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thick bath towels
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheesh87
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good and Cosy accommodation”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

It was a nice apartment and we were well taken care of by our friendly hosts. breakfast was hearty with home made Feijoa jam, cereal, bread, ham and eggs! Accommodation is private and deep in their farm. There's also a hot spa pool right outside under the stars.

Location was superb and just a short drive to the Shire's tour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosy feel of the apartment
Liked least: rollout bed
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowelei
Guam
1 review
“What are feijoas and capsicums?!...”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

...Well, now I know, after my group's wonderful stay at the Southern Belle Orchard! What a neat experience, to tour the capsicum greenhouse and the feijoa trees. As part of The Lord of the Rings Shire movie set tour, our group was able to book a stay at Southern Belle, and we were pleasantly surprised, as this turned out to be one of our favorite New Zealand experiences! (We are travelers from the United States/Guam). The de Jong family was very hospitable and we thoroughly enjoyed our tour, evening dinner, and conversation with them! (We also enjoyed the hot-tub during NZ winter!) I highly recommend others to visit this orchard, as the family, orchard, and housing were very comfortable and nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tour, conversation, dinner with the de Jongs
Liked least: directions were a little tricky (but not too bad.... a quick phone call solved that)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyYang
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Its just nice and warm!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

we've have a very great experience in the Southern Belle Orchard. The room we stay for the night is not only clean, but also so warm, it is just like a home! ive been very happy that i choose such a nice place for staying during my frist trip with my BF, and he quite like here as well. the host is so friendly and hospitable. u wont be regret if u choose here for your trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: they have air conditioner rather than just a heater!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AggieWand...
Bryan, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Kiwi Hospitality!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

While the lodging was comfortable, dinner very good, and the spa underneath the southern stars all very nice, the best part about the farm stay was being able to visit with the de Jong family. Learning about the orchard and greenhouse, hearing about the family history, discussing life in New Zealand... so much better than staying in a hotel room. If a traveler wants to enjoy a good visit with local people and not just "staff" at a business, then the Southern Belle Orchard is just right.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conversation over dinner with the family
Liked least: The directions (without GPS use) were a little tricky
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$103
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing