We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“matamata break”
Review of Eat Cafe

Eat Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Matamata
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“matamata break”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

over 2 days, we had 4 meals @ this lovely cafe' in the main street.
the food was delicious, good coffee and friendly service. nice clean tables & floors also.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debdoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    52
    5
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tuakau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent - I eat my words!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The last review I did of this place must have been because I caught them on a bad day. On this second visit, I can't fault the place. Friendly staff, prompt service, the best full breakfast and excellent lunch food too (We took away sandwiches for our journey down to Gisborne).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

On our way from Rotovagus to Auckland feeling a little worse for wear after big conference night came across the cafe Eat food is succulent and owner first class
Check out this lamb shank and kumera pie ❤️❤

Helpful?
2 Thank LanceMitchellNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum Yum”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Was taken there by a friend, he eats there ALL the time. Wow most beautiful food. Great selection fantastic coffee and service with a smile. Loved it. Ended up going three times in four days. Well done guys you rock.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lebe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Options for all”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I really enjoyed this cafe with so many options from traditional good cafe food to gluten free and raw foods that taste and look really good. The staff were happy and friendly and the cafe was very busy. A lovely afternoon and would be perfect for anyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank becksMcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Cafe also viewed

Matamata, Waikato Region
Matamata, Waikato Region
 
Matamata, Waikato Region
 
Matamata, Waikato Region
Matamata, Waikato Region
 

Been to Eat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing