We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”

The Redoubt Bar and Eatery
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Matamata
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Locally themed bar and eatery, which is guaranteed to make your day better. Great New Zealand fare, tap beer, live music and good times.
Matamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Love coming here. The food is high quality and I like how it is free range. The atmosphere is really nice too. I love having dinner there. I have some special dietary requirements and they are very flexible with this.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    129
    31
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great place to eat, and had something for everyone to enjoy, it is always difficult to please everyone in the family, The Redoubt Bar managed it and with pleasant staff, made it an enjoyable evening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcfamily9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Pate.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Food was cafe style and quite nice. Small menu though, so not a lot of choice. Price was good. Pâté was great and would definitely go back for that. Service was good. Staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. Overall pretty good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We ate here as a two families of four. We were seated straight away and looked after with drinks as soon as we arrived. Our waitress was friendly, only new, her service was great. We ordered a variety of food, was a little disappointed that one of the dishes was going to take over 30 mins to cook so had to change my order (we had young children and were just travelling through). I ordered the pork belly, nice, but mash was a little cold, and was a little oily on the plate I wouldn't rave about it. My friend had the same, hers had no oil and was warmer? Fish and chips was nice, lots of batter but good portion size. Restaurant is a bar and is a little dark, but is warm and cosy

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bribrendy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whakatane
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The service was good - the girl who served us was new, but she was really friendly and helpful. Our food and drinks arrived within a reasonable time and the meals were lovely. Freshly cooked, tasty, well presented - just great! I wish I could have taken longer to look around the place, it's got so much character and a really nice atmosphere. Would definitely go back if I'm travelling that way again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Redoubt Bar and Eatery also viewed

Matamata, Waikato Region
Matamata, Waikato Region
 
Matamata, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Redoubt Bar and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing