We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matamata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chestnut Lane Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Matamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“superb !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a gem ! This beautiful B+B is wonderful . We were made very welcome by Kathleen and John . Chestnut cottage is warm, friendly and very modern, set in a beautiful part of the world. We can recommend this place without reservation. Very handy for Hobbiton. Try the Redoubt bar and restaurant in Matamata is excellent too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UpTheSkyBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello there in Coventry. Thank you for choosing to bring your family to stay with us at Chestnut Lane Cottage. We certainly enjoyed meeting you all.
Thank you also for the review you wrote. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes to you all from J&K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
125
202
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Enjoyed a few nights at Chestnut Lane Cottage and would love to repeat the experience. We were welcomed by Kathleen and John and made to feel very much at home. Loved the breakfast, cookies and looking forward some day to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello there in Belfast - so lovely to meet you too. I do hope when you are back 'down under' you will come see us again. Thank you very much for writing a review about your stay.
Kind regards K&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed overnight at Chestnut Lane Cottage after a hot tub and spa treatment in Te Aroha. We were welcomed by Kathleen and John and were delighted with the self-contained cottage overlooking a rural scene in a private garden. The cottage is tastefully decorated with a modern style and quality fittings and furniture. The hospitality was second to none, including home baking and a wonderful cooked breakfast with the choice of having it delivered to the cottage or joining Kathleen and John in their home. We had a wonderful chat over coffee and left there feeling we had just made new friends, determined to return and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalsoulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend getaway at Chestnut Lane Cottage. We hope you will come back another time and see us. Thanks also for taking the time to write a lovely review. Kind regards from K&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
277 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The cottage at Chestnut lane was so beautiful we wanted to stay much longer. It was new, light, airy and just lovely with a kitchen, dining area, living room, bedroom, bathroom, walk in closet and a terrace out back. It was just a few minutes from Matamata, and Kathleen was incredibly lovely and gracious and made us a wonderful hot breakfast. There were even movies in the cottage to watch.
We can't say enough good about this pretty place and lovely hosts.

Room Tip: the cottage is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMMSebastopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I did enjoy meeting you girls and want to say thank you for coming to stay with us. It was great to chat with you at breakfast. Hope your seminar in Australia went well.
Kind regards from K&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for one night at the big house. Nice owner (friendly Kathleen and John), nice food (cookies & the freshest breakfast), nice house (the architecture/design/decoration), nice location (no traffic noise and yet just 5 mins drive from town). I really enjoyed my photo shooting inside and outside the house. Will upload those photos onto my facebook later and email to you when done. Honestly, my best stay of this NZ trip!
Thank you so much Kathleen and John!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9298Photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hello there in Singapore. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at Chestnut Lane Cottage. It was lovely to meet you both. Thank you also for the great picture you took of our property on that lovely starry night. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Very kind regards K&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for one night at the cottage after visiting the Hobitton movie set. It is just 5 minutes drive from the Matamata city centre. The cottage was fully equipped with a kitchenette, plus complimentary cookies and tea/coffee. The living room had two comfortable couches and an array of Dvds if the movie bug hits. At night, we sat out in the verandah, sipping hot tea and eating hot scones, admiring the night sky filled with twinkling stars. Apart from the occasional rustling of the grass and barking of the neighbour’s dog, the surroundings were so quiet that one could hear a pin drop. In addition, who can forget our wonderful host, Kathleen who whipped up a marvelous breakfast in her lovely kitchen? Perfect for a retreat from the hectic city life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello David, thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us. It was so nice to meet you and your girlfriend, thanks so much for choosing to stay at Chestnut Lane Cottage.
We are pleased you were able to enjoy the lovely starlit night.
Regards to you both. Kathleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Thanks so much Kathleen and John for making us all so welcome at your lovely home.Particularly appreciated the trouble you took with our dietary requirements. Everything else was perfect as well- lovely spaces ,very clean and comfortable. Hopefully we will do a repeat trip soon! Cheers Diane and John

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Diane and John. Thank you so much for the review and thank you for choosing to bring your family to stay here with John and I. It was lovely to meet you both and your daughter and grand daughter. We hope you will come see us again next time you are travelling south.
Kind regards to you all K&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matamata hotels
2.0 mi away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Matamata Central Motel
Matamata Central Motel
#4 of 7 in Matamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
4.9 mi away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
4.0 mi away
ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Lane Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Lane Cottage

Property: Chestnut Lane Cottage
Address: 4 Chestnut Lane | Eldonwood, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matamata
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new self-contained cottage, with beautiful country views, is five minutes drive to Matamata town centre and 10 minutes drive to Hobbiton.Your private cottage has a lounge and kitchen that open out onto a deck with stunning views. The bedroom has a queen size bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite.A large cooked breakfast is included. Home cooked lunch and dinner on request. Free WiFi. DVD player. Your friendly hosts Kathleen and John welcome you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing