We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind over Mata”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matamata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chestnut Lane Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Matamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mind over Mata”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Pity only stayed one night. Previous reviews say it all.
Wonderful property in spacious location. Kathleen and John are great hosts. Welcoming drinks and nibbles on their porch and lovely cooked breakfast in their house.
Forgot their scones.
Stands out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi there in Dover. It was fun meeting you both, we too enjoyed the time with you over drinks and at breakfast. Hope you are keeping warm. Thanks so much for the review. Regards from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
129
210
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

All of what has been said about this place before is absolutely true. My wife and I stayed one night last week before visiting Hobbiton, and Kathleen and John were wonderful hosts. We were greeted with smiles and scones. The cottage provided so much excellent space and a great deck for stargazing. If there had been more to do in Matamata, we would have loved to stay longer. As it was, the night we stayed at the cottage was perfect and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adehoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi to you both in Illinois. We are so happy you had a great time in NZ and enjoyed your night with us at Chestnut Lane Cottage. Thank you Adam for taking time to write a review. Regards K&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My friends and i stayed here for a night at the cottage. The room is clean and the host really makes u feel at home. And i felt that this place is really very nice and the host Kathleen and John are really very nice ppl. If possible i hope that i can stay longer and enjoy the peaceful environment over there.

Excellent breakfast served with bacon, warm scones and fresh eggs. Was told by the host that they got their eggs from the hens at their backyard. And each day they could get 4 eggs from the hen, aren't they so fresh?!

If anyone were to plan and visit Matamata, this is really a great place to stay. You wont regret it. Its really worth the afford and price.

Room Tip: If you are having a big group or prefer to have more privacy, the cottage is worth considering. If n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis_Poh_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dennis it was just lovely having you and your friends stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. Regards to you all. K&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was a gorgeous property. Kathleen's producing fresh scones immediately after our arrival was a lovely touch. It was very near to our primary reason for visiting the area - Hobbiton. Kathleen and John were helpful about directions and information. Everything was wonderfully clean and there were even some basic supplies in the fridge. We just wish we could have stayed longer and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone going to New Zealand.

Room Tip: There couldn't be a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Eileen thanks so much for the review and for choosing to stay here at Chestnut Lane Cottage.
It was great to meet you both.
Kind regards Kathleen and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for our visit to Hobbiton. WOW! The cottage is impeccable, airy, spacious and new. Kathleen and John are thoughtful and kind people. It was the cleanest place we stayed out of 13 accommodations. Probably the cleanest place we will ever stay. Excellent full breakfast, warm scones on arrival and other nice thoughtful things. This is the perfect place to stay between Auckland and Wellington. We wished we could have stayed on our last night in New Zealand instead of heading closer to Auckland. Quiet and relaxing. Excellent value, the breakfast alone in a restaurant would have been $40-50 NZ dollars alone for two people.
We would stay here again in a heart beat. Thank you Kathleen and John for a nice memory of New Zealand.

Room Tip: The cottage was private, quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPF04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi there in Ontario. Thank you so much for your review and thank you for choosing to stay with John and I at Chestnut Lane Cottage. It was lovely meeting you both, we hope you enjoyed your last few nights in New Zealand. Regards K&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanty Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We cannot say enough good things about Chestnut Lane and our hosts Kathleen and John. The Cottage was new, beautifully furnished, spotless and fully equipped. The breakfasts were amazing as were the afternoon treats. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. If you plan to visit Matamata, this is the place to stay!!! We would definitely return.
Ken & Georgina

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Ken thanks to you for coming to stay with John and I at Chestnut Lane Cottage. It was lovely to chat with you while enjoying a glass of wine together. So pleased you had a happy stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Couldn't have asked for anything better. The cottage was spacious, comfortable, new and beautifully appointed. Perfect location for visiting Hobbiton. Kathleen was so welcoming and the perfect hostess. Can't rate this high enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Jackie thanks to you and your mum for choosing to stay with us. It was so lovely meeting you both. Thank you for making time to chat with me at breakfast. Best regards to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matamata hotels
2.0 mi away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast
4.9 mi away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
Matamata Central Motel
Matamata Central Motel
#4 of 7 in Matamata
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Lane Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Lane Cottage

Property: Chestnut Lane Cottage
Address: 4 Chestnut Lane | Eldonwood, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matamata
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new self-contained cottage, with beautiful country views, is five minutes drive to Matamata town centre and 10 minutes drive to Hobbiton.Your private cottage has a lounge and kitchen that open out onto a deck with stunning views. The bedroom has a queen size bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite.A large cooked breakfast is included. Home cooked lunch and dinner on request. Free WiFi. DVD player. Your friendly hosts Kathleen and John welcome you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing