We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnut Lane Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matamata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chestnut Lane Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Matamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Chestnut Lane Cottage was delightful! The cottage was sparkling clean and very well appointed. Kathleen provided delcious breakfasts and wonderful afternoon treats. It was the perfect place to explore the area and visit "Hobbiton." We had great fun watching the antics of the chickens!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage for two days. I'm sure the guestrooms in the big house would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi there in Arizona. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us and thank you for choosing to stay at Chestnut Lane Cottage. It was so lovely to meet you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
122
201
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ortonville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Best place to stay if you're touring Hobbiton. Easy to find, very nice people, lovely, lovely house. Excellent amenities, family friendly atmosphere. Picked up the rental car at the airport, drove to Hobbiton, did the tour and then found this place. Made for a good first day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentOlson43400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi Brent and Robin. Thanks so much for your review. We hope you had a great time travelling through New Zealand. We enjoyed meeting you both and thanks for the time we had to chat with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed in November.Just found time to write.First trip to NZ with spouse and 3-yr old,2-week self drive.On day one,landing in Auckland at 10am,wanted to stay in a place just to recover from the jetlag and have a start at Rotorua from day 2.Six months before the trip,had a look at NZ map and looked at all possible locations between Auckland Airport and Rotorua,while also looking at Trip advisor reviews for a B&B with the best reviews on hospitality.Thanks only to TA,found this GEM.Booked in June for November stay.Just by email,no credit card details etc.Did not even go to Hobbiton set.Totally agree with all the previous reviewers-lovely hosts,spacious accomodation,complete privacy,great rural views,comfy bed,fully equipped kitchen (we did not get to use),good shower,2 min drive to restaurants.Its a few more minutes drive to New World supermarket.Our little one enjoyed running about the place and feeding the chickens.The fresh eggs scrambled and the mushrooms are memorable,so is the chat we had with the hostess who joined us at breakfast with her coffee.For dinner,we went to Workmans cafe and found that the hostess had spoken to the cafe owner about us being vegetarians and we had lots of special dishes made just for us.Really appreciate the home-baked goodies on arrival,the fruit platter and the kind gesture of a lovely "thank you for staying" card at checkout.All in all,a great start to our holiday,thanks to Chestnutlane cottage.

Room Tip: Just stay here.Dont miss this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kithu_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello there in Dubai. It was lovely to read your review, thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are so pleased you had a happy time here in Matamata. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Chestnut Lane Cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Chestnut Lane Cottage is an absolutely wonderful place to stay and its thoroughly recommended by us, especially if you like country side and peace and quiet. Its only a short drive from Matamata and ideal location if you are visiting Hobbiton. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and everything is provided to make ones stay comfortable. Katheleen and John are exceptionally good hosts, very warm and friendly and they made us feel so welcome. There were flowers in the room plus a bowl of fruit and we were offered a bottle of wine on arrival. Not to forget the yummy home made banana cake! Kathleen and John go the extra distance which made our stay such a pleasant and memorable one. We felt we had known them for ages and yet it was only a couple of days. I doubt if you will ever hear anything negative about this B & B as it really is one of the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Gloria, thank you so much for your lovely review, we really enjoyed meeting you both.
Thank you also for choosing to stay with us at Chestnut Lane Cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Katleen and John are excellent, generous and kind hosts, thinking of everything you could possibly need. Their house is just beautiful and and spacious. I had the best sleep on my holiday because it so wonderfully quiet with exceptional views 360'. All is extremely comfortable a gorgeous lounge,bedroom and a bathroom all to myself. The grounds are just so peaceful and relaxing, the hens are adorable.
Kathleen and John are so hospitable they even made a lovely dinner to share and are very easy to chat with. Their local knowledge and recommendations hit the mark. A Superb place to stay, relax and enjoy. Thank you Kaltheen and John.

Room Tip: Room or cottage both fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 705Esmeweatherwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you so very much for choosing to stay 3 days with us at Chestnut Lane Cottage B&B.
It is great to read the feed back from our lovely guests, we are happy you had a restful time here.
So nice you could join us for a meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Modern, spacious, separate cottage located in a peaceful estate. Very quiet area but only a short drive from Matamata main street and 15 minutes to Hobbiton. Kathleen was a wonderful host, offering tips for the area and cooking a delicious breakfast suiting dietary requirements (gluten free) and our day's schedule. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you Annabel for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay with us.
It was lovely to meet the both of you. We hope you had a great time in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The B&B is in a beautiful estate just minutes from Matamata and Hobbiton. All very comfortable, modern and spotless. Kathleen and John are wonderful hosts and have really thought of everything to make you feel right at home. We were offered beer and wine upon our arrival along with great conversation. I would definitely stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpollock22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at Chestnut Lane Cottage and thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay We enjoyed meeting you both, it was great you were able to join us for a drink and chat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matamata hotels
1.7 mi away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.3 mi away
Matamata Central Motel
Matamata Central Motel
#4 of 7 in Matamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast
4.8 mi away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
O'Reilly's Motel
O'Reilly's Motel
#4 of 5 in Matamata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Lane Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Lane Cottage

Property: Chestnut Lane Cottage
Address: 4 Chestnut Lane | Eldonwood, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matamata
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new self-contained cottage, with beautiful country views, is five minutes drive to Matamata town centre and 10 minutes drive to Hobbiton.Your private cottage has a lounge and kitchen that open out onto a deck with stunning views. The bedroom has a queen size bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite.A large cooked breakfast is included. Home cooked lunch and dinner on request. Free WiFi. DVD player. Your friendly hosts Kathleen and John welcome you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing