We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay and wonderful hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matamata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chestnut Lane Cottage
Ranked #1 of 7 Matamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay and wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Chestnut Lane cottage is a place you do not want to miss staying in when you visit matamata. The setting of the cottage is beautiful and relaxing. Kathleen and John are a pair of wonderful host. When we arrived, kathleen and John showed us around their cottage and kathleen also prepared scones for us. We sat at the courtyard amongst the lushest green grass, sipping our tea and eating the scones. Simply awesome!

Thanks kathleen and john for being such a wonderful host, it was a memorable stay for all of us and we will definitely recommend our friends to your beautiful cottage. :) :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_Viper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a lovely review. It was just lovely having a delightful group of young people in our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
129
209
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We're so happy to have a nice stay at the this lovely chestnut cottage. The only thing that was not perfect was our stay was too short. Katheleen and John greeted us with warm hospitality. Beautiful country view and house design made us felt relaxing and our 2y/o girl loved to run in the green yard. Lucky to see the sunrise over the field add another unforgettable memory in our travel this time. This is really a nice B&B and make us felt just like home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yin-Tzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Hi to you in Taipei. Thank you for your review - we had a lovely time with you both and little C C.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Chestnut Lane is an immaculate cottage in a beautiful rural setting, just a few minutes from town.

My husband and I stayed here with our two little ones ( 2 1/2 yrs & 6 mths ), and we were blown away by the quality of this accommodation, and the hospitality shown by the hosts, Kathleen and John.

Ahead of our stay I had emailed Kathleen with questions about things to do in the area, and she promptly replied with information that she had kindly taken the time to research for us.

On arrival, Kathleen was there to greet us, and had left freshly baked banana cake and some fresh fruit in the cottage for us.

Each morning we were spoiled with a home cooked breakfast, served in our cottage, and meticulously presented in Kathleen's creative and homely style.

My 2 1/2 year old thoroughly enjoyed running around the ample lawn, and feeding the chickens in the backyard.

All in all, we couldn't be happier with our stay here, and we are eagerly awaiting our next trip to Chestnut Lane.

Thanks Kathleen and John; it was lovely to meet you both, and lovely to stay in your beautiful home.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarawilliams79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Sarah thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay with us. It was lovely meeting you and your family. We really appreciate our guests taking the time to share their thoughts about their time with us.
We hope you can make it back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Chestnut Lane Cottage is lovely, inviting and immaculate in its presentation. The hosts were very attentive, polite and welcoming. They provide an exceptional standard of accommodation with a friendly ease that makes you feel at home. The caramel shortcake was a delight and the cooked breakfast brought to our cottage was outstanding. Our hosts also provided us with information about the local area and Hobbiton was just a short drive away. Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandPtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your review K&P. It was great to meet you both. We hope your North Island holiday was fun and that the birthday celebrations went well. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at Chestnut Lane Cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-Louis, Bretagne, France
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Chestnut Lane is a beautifully manicured home away from home. Hosts Kathleen and John gave us a very warm welcome and immediately made us feel comfortable in the cottage. The accommodation was excellent and the attention to detail was superb: freshly made banana loaf and bubbles were an unexpected bonus. The cottage was beautifully appointed with classic yet unpretentious décor and views over the countryside. Breakfast was scrumptious and the fresh eggs were simply delicious. This is a wonderful bed and breakfast with hosts who are attentive without being obtrusive. This is a delicate balance which Kathleen and John master with aplomb. Bravo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahDH735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Sarah thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay with us. It was great meeting you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had the most amazing experience staying at Chestnut Lane. We where greeted with some amazing home made scones upon our arrival and we where made to feel right at home immediately. The cottage was sooooo beautiful and warm everything was just perfect. We had our 4 year old son with us and he just loved the experience so much so all the way home he kept asking if he could go back and stay again, which we will definately be doing again in the future. He also kept asking if you caught the naughty rabbit yet. We just loved every minute of our stay the breakfasts where so delicous and all the baking Im pretty sure I put on a few kgs haha. Thank you so much we cant wait to come down and stay again. We have some amazing photos but unfortunately this site isnt allowing us to upload them :(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinandtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. Im so pleased you all enjoyed your stay, we loved meeting you. Darion we haven't caught the naughty little rabbit yet. He loves playing in the vegetable patch. Hopefully you will be back again one day soon. Regards K&J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I must say this stay at Chestnut Lane cottage left me a most beautiful experience of NZ. We had been traveling from the South to the North and had varying experiences at the different places we had stayed in. Some decent, others disappointing.

When we arrived, the owners Kathleen and John greeted us with a plate of home baked pastries and there was also a plate of fruits on the table. Clean. Well furnished, fantastic and thoughtful hosts (who quietly heated our beds whilst we were out for dinner so we could return to warm beds when we returned), beautiful scenery, lovely homemade breakfast - what else can one ask for? We were all tired from the driving and this was the perfect place to chill. To top things, the hosts loaned us lord of the rings DVDs (after we shared with them our renewed interest post-Hobbiton visit) and we had a fantastic time watching it whilst catching up on rest. Knowing that urban fellows like us don't usually come into contact with nature, John was nice enough to offer the 5 yr old in our group the opportunity to feed the chocks and collect eggs, which absolutely thrilled the little one. Thank you Chestnut Lane cottage for the 101% experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen_and_John, Owner at Chestnut Lane Cottage, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Ivy thank you so much for you lovely review - we so enjoyed meeting you and your family and loved having you stay with us. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay here, it means so much to us to know our guests feel at home and enjoy their stay. Kind regards to you all. K&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matamata hotels
2.0 mi away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast
4.9 mi away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
Matamata Central Motel
Matamata Central Motel
#4 of 7 in Matamata
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Lane Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Lane Cottage

Property: Chestnut Lane Cottage
Address: 4 Chestnut Lane | Eldonwood, Matamata 3400, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matamata
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new self-contained cottage, with beautiful country views, is five minutes drive to Matamata town centre and 10 minutes drive to Hobbiton.Your private cottage has a lounge and kitchen that open out onto a deck with stunning views. The bedroom has a queen size bed, walk-in wardrobe and ensuite.A large cooked breakfast is included. Home cooked lunch and dinner on request. Free WiFi. DVD player. Your friendly hosts Kathleen and John welcome you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing