We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect relaxing spot in the countryside”
other traveler has booked this property
Funky 'red shed' on the outside. Luxury on the inside. Private & the perfect place to unwind.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Funky 'red shed' on the outside. Luxury on the inside. Private & the perfect place to unwind.
Great kitchenette with toaster, microwave & fridge/freezer. Assorted teas, coffee & hot chocolate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Funky 'red shed' on the outside. Luxury on the inside. Private & the perfect place to unwind.
Great kitchenette with toaster, microwave & fridge/freezer. Assorted teas, coffee & hot chocolate
Continental breakfast.
Large ensuite. Soft towels & fluffy robes.
Outdoor area to relax & unwind.
Safe off road parking.
View from your bedroom window.
Hobbiton is so close. just 2.5 kms up the road from our BnB. Join a tour at a time that suits you.
Stunning rural views.
Rural views that guests love.
Stunning views that change with the seasons.
Easy driving distance to other iconic tourist destinations.
Panorama view of our property.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Matamata, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Peter D
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing spot in the countryside”
Reviewed August 31, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed at a lot of nice hotels on our honeymoon trip, but this stay rivaled even the best. The location is wonderful, both because it is only a few minutes from Hobbiton, making it an ideal place to stay after doing the evening Hobbit feast, but also because it sits in an idyllic spot in the countryside where you can sit on the patio sipping coffee to horses and cows and. Tracy was the most welcoming host, not just with baked bread as many others have mentioned, but also greeting us late at night and making sure we were acclimated despite her having more pressing needs to attend to. The accommodation itself was clean, comfortable, and every need had been thought of. It really felt like a home away from home. Definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottB584...
1 review
“Fantastic Location as well as place to stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Great place to stay if going to Matamata, especially if going to the Hobbiton movie set. Its a couple of minute drive from Hobbtion which is great if you do the evening buffet dinner. The room is a great size with a big bathroom. Staying in hotels you can get hard beds, showers with no pressure and scratchy sheets, this was definitely not the case here. The bed was comfy and the shower was fantastic. The room is very clean and modern with everything you need, including freshly made warm bread which was delicious. Definitely worth a stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari S
Sanford, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Wonderful Host!”
Reviewed March 24, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

My husband and I had a great stay at the Buckland BnB. The room had everything we needed and the bed was really comfortable! The host was wonderful. She gave us tips on what to do in the area and some recommendations for our next stop in Rotorua. We loved the fresh baked bread and the breakfast items she brought us. Also the location was very close to Hobbiton.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I was so happy with this accomodation. Everything was thought of, fully self contained, extra comfortable bed, and a warm freshly baked loaf of bread on arrival. Hosts were very welcoming and non-invasive. The location was lovely, surrounded by green hills, close to Hobbiton. Perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
Thanks so much for your great review. We loved having you stay here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GavinC128...
1 review
“The nicest most comfortable and welcoming place ive ever stayed.”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Buckland B&B is by far the best B&B I've ever stayed at, this place surpassed all of my expectations. Tracey and Kevin are a very hospitable and welcoming couple.The room was nicer than most hotels i've stayed in. I had access to very reliable WIFI and my own bathroom that included a very powerful and warm shower. the bed its self was so comfortable i considered delaying my travel plans just so i could stay another night (not kidding i nearly did) So i urge you, if you are going to Hobbiton, or even passing within a 50 km radius, to stay here, its definitely worth going out your way for. Oh and the price was very reasonable as well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
My apologies for not responding earlier! Thanks so much for your great review. Guest feedback is always welcome. We would have loved you to stay longer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roam80026...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in October 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvp198920...
Community of Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing