We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop for a hobbit!”
Review of Tower Road Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tower Road Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We travelled to Matamata to visit hobbiton and stayed here for only one night although wish we could have stayed longer once we were there! Karen and Terry were genuine, super friendly hosts and their motel was immaculately clean with good facilities and comfy beds. Free wifi was an added bonus, only 10 minutes or so to Hobbiton. Highly recommended stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kazamataz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hello to you both

What a lovely young couple you are, thankyou for your review, we hope you enjoyed Hobbiton and Rotorua and enjoyed the Hangi dinner, enjoy what NZ has to offer you for the rest of your trip.
Regards
Terry and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 301 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed with Karen the nicely renovated 'Tower Road Motel' in Matamata after visiting hobbiton. A great location, just outside of the Main Street of town, and a good stop if heading on Rotorua. Karen was delightful and friendly and provided us with great information on the area. The room itself greatly surpassed our expectations as it was very clean and well equipped (microwave, a few dishes, cutlery etc) for our quick one night stay. I would highly recommend this spot and you can even relax and unwind in their beautiful garden at the end of the day. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwent09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Hello to you both and Merry Christmas
Thankyou for your review, we hope you are enjoying the rest of NZ and have some great photos to take back home with you. Take care in your travels.
Regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

What a super place to stay. Although this is an older looking motel it is immaculately clean and has all the ammenities needed. It is nice to be away from the main road which is horribly busy and the garden setting is beautiful. Karen was so helpful, friendly and accommodating and is by far the nicest person we have meet in all the accommodation we have stayed in (which is a lot!).

This motel offers great value for money and should be your first pick in Matamata.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Hello Melanie

Thankyou for writing a review and such a positive one, Terry and I are pleased you found your unit very clean, and that you would reccommend us to anyone. Merry Christmas to you and all your family.

Regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Unbelievable friendly owners, super place to stay, never met such friendly people, Karen deserves an ocsar, especially for learning me how to drive a car in New Zealand as its the opposite from Belgium, very clean and comfortable stay! A++++ all the way!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Hello PhilipTeaching you to drive was fun, I can say I have never done that before, thankyou for your review, we hope you are enjoying NZ and " keeping to the left" on our roads.
Regards Terry and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Perfect place to stay while visiting Matamata/Hobbiton. The units are immaculate have every comfort of home, and the gardens are an absolute treat to wander through. Karen, the manager, went above and beyond in so many ways to help us and she made our time there that much more enjoyable. We all wished we could have stayed for longer, we'll remember our time there always. Especially loved the little extra touches like the excellent Forest and Bird range of soaps and shampoos. Beds were extremely comfortable and we heard no road noise at all. Fantastic location just outside of town. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hello Jennifer

Wow what a review, thankyou so much, we get alot of pleasure in sharing our garden with our guests, especially now that its hot, to sit and have a drink under the trees and relax is what its all about, and thankyou for your comments about our units. Take care. Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were tired when we got to Matamata and luckily came across this motel by pure luck. Middle range in appearance and decor, our unit proved to be extremely clean and well appointed. Beds ( there were three of them) were very comfortable and the units are well away from the road so little to no night noise. Our host Karen, went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed and was very informative about the local attractions and services. The Motel is set in well kept grounds which will please those travelers with kids - there's a great little playground and plenty of room to run round in. Free WiFi and the offer of an additional voucher if required. Excellent customer service Karen - hope you're on a commission!

Room Tip: Great little shoe shop in town Ladies! Can recommend the Chinese takeaway - stays open late too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetBo0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hello to you all
Thankyou for your review, so pleased you found the motel a comfortable place to stay, and enjoyed a couple of our local shops, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ and went home with happy memories. Regards Karen
P.S. No commission here just good old kiwi hospitality!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I found the spacious comfortable units so well maintained with their large airy main rooms and their small but adequate kitchen, toilet and shower facilities. As the sole occupant of one of these units I didn't get to see the family ones, but these looked from the outside to be very large.

The friendly hosts, Karen and Terry, will make you feel at home and will send on "left behind" items, like my forgotten left-under the bedcover library book which appeared in my letter box before I even knew I had lost it.

All told, a cheap motel and really good value for money. I intend returning for my third time next year

(Submitted on behalf of my mother)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Hello Isla's Daughter

Can you please thank your mum for getting to you forward such a lovely review, your mum is such a lovely lady, Terry and I always look forward to seeing her each year, its great she comes here to have a relaxing break and is able to do this, we look forward to seeing her again next year.
Regards Terry and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamata
19.4 mi away
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cambridge
58 reviews
2.9 mi away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maple Lodge Motel
Maple Lodge Motel
#3 of 5 in Matamata
32 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast
4.6 mi away
ArtHouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Road Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Road Motel

Address: 108 Tower Road, Matamata 3471, New Zealand (Formerly Tower Lodge Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
Price Range: $71 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tower Road Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tower Road Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing