We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!”
Review of Tower Road Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tower Road Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights recently and I just love this motel. The owners are wonderful people, the large sized rooms are very clean & well serviced. A tremendous amount of work has gone into the garden at the back of the motel.Just ideal for a quiet stroll in a small park complete with Doves. I am a horse & animal person so it was very nice to be surrounded by farms just a short drive from Matamata township.
Definitely will be making this motel my 2nd home when in NZ next time.
Many Thanks to Karen & her Husband for a top stay. ~~

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello Dena and Richard

What wonderful comments you have made,thankyou. The garden has been alot of work but its been all worthwhile to have our guests enjoy it, thats what its all about, to be able to offer somewhere you can go and relax, take timeout in. We look forward to seeing you both again.Have a great 2013. Regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    56
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
89
120
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night after we visited the nearby Hobbiton site. The room was clean, tidy and a very generous size. The motel is surrounded by farms and was a lovely quiet place to stay, but still very close to the Matamata township. Would recommend to anyone travelling through this region. Staff were very welcoming and helpful and provided us with free wifi access as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello from Tower Road Motel
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, we are lucky to have a motel so close to town but with that 'country' feeling and we get great pleasure when guests enjoy it as well.Hope the rest of you holiday went well. Regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very comfortable and clean. Friendly, helpful hosts. Overall, a nice place to stay and a very good value for the traveler passing through this beautiful farming area. We would would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Guys
Thankyou for your great comments,we hope you enjoyed Hobbittion and the rest of your travels
and New Zealand's summer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place was really cute, the rooms were great sizes and were very clean. I really enjoyed the stay here, as the staff were extremely nice and the room very comfortable. The room was also very well priced, especially if your on a budget. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen o, Owner at Tower Road Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello Amelia
Thankyou for your lovely comments, we hope you enjoyed your time in Matamata and had a wonderful holiday.We may see you again. Regards Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed one night in this motel last weekend.The unit was spotless and the linen on the bed was so crisp and white. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. We would definately stay here again if we had to visit Matamata in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoebeAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife & I stayed & enjoyed our visit from Thursday Oct 11th till Sun Oct 14th 2012

Great hosts, very clean rooms & peaceful grounds

Host Terry is very interesting with a passion for vintage motorcycles & will even take you for a ride in his vintage side car

would stay again and recomend it to our family & friends

Don & Jan McGregor
Richmond BC Canada

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed at this motel for 1 night this week and would highly recommend it as a place to stay.
Quiet, spotlessly clean, friendly, helpful service and excellent facilities. Nicest motel I have stayed at in a long time. Great value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Would recommend any room at this motel. I had Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matamata hotels
0.9 mi away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
2.9 mi away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
Eldonwood Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maple Lodge Motel
Maple Lodge Motel
#3 of 5 in Matamata
28 reviews
1.3 mi away
Matamata Central Motel
Matamata Central Motel
#4 of 7 in Matamata
143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Horse and Jockey Inn
Horse and Jockey Inn
#5 of 7 in Matamata
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Road Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Road Motel

Property: Tower Road Motel
Address: 108 Tower Road, Matamata 3471, New Zealand (Formerly Tower Lodge Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tower Road Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tower Road Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing