We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to avoid as only campground in/near Matamata”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
Kaiapoi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hard to avoid as only campground in/near Matamata”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A party of 2 campervans. Very dated facilities, quite the worst I have seen in NZ, not exactly dirty, but not clean either, and lack detail such as plugs for handbasins. Wouldn't want to be there in high season.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crewsaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george h, Owner at Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback we have already acted on it. We want every one to have a happy experience. As you have noted this camping ground has been going for many years an as new owners we are currently refurbishing. As a result we have put into place a system to insure that the finest details are not missed. The high season is our best season and as you can see from other reviews people love our place. your review has helped us to improve our place thank you
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    32
    23
    10
See reviews for
53
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The reason i stayed here mainly came down to cost- matamata is not the biggest of places which limited the accommodation possible. The room was clean and tidy just very outdated. One double bed was made up for us but was extremely uncomfortable- the bed was so sunken in the middle i felt like I was squished up against my parter all night as we kept rolling into each other. Kitchenete was stocked fairly well. Cant complain overall but dont expect anything great

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george h, Owner at Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback reviews are helpful to us. As a result of your review we are changing our website wording for our cabins.The cabin you chose was our standard cabin for and extra $10.00 you could have had a kitchen cabin with intersprung bed two rooms and kitchen. Your review was helpful to us thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Just went for the hotpools. Best rustic ones so far. Big and hot and private and not overpriced. Then cool off for a dip in the big pools. It was great, def go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed in a cabin which had spiders webs in the dark corners. There was food spattered on the ceiling. We used the private hot pool which cost $10 p/p. The water was great but the place was very run down. There were only two showers for the whole park. The mattress on the bed was about 2" thick and we could feel the wire below. Worst bed for the whole trip. The hosts were helpful and pleasant. The pools are open to the public.

Room Tip: Check the cabin before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirklees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george h, Owner at Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you found spiders our cabin, we regularly spray for insects
and our cleaners check daily when cleaning but as that room had not been booked for a while a spider must have got in. Our hot private pool is old (1880) and rustic but that is the reason people keep coming back to use it, they don't want us to modernise it or change it in any way.
We have a total of 4 shower blocks in our park.
All our mattress in the standard cabins are 4 inches thick and are about to be changed to 6 inches
Since your review we have changed the style of bunk and they are now far more comfortable we are sorry that your sleep was not as good as you would have liked.
We really appreciate our guests taking the time to share their thoughts about their time with us.
We hope you can make it back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2012

George and Racheal are the nicest hosts by far and go out of there way to be accommodating.the campsite is clean and well maintained ,as are the pools a lovely relaxing place to kickback .thanks guys !

Room Tip: pretty much all of them are in a good location near kitchen,showers loo's and pools .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george h, Owner at Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Tracy thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This has been a run down jewel. I told a friend recently that we had been to stay and she said she remembered visiting in the 50s! the recent owner is slowiy and steadily rejuvenating...signs are there - fresh paint, decent linen, well-equipped cabin. the pools are tired but clean and very useable. It's easy to see how it would have been in its glory days and easy to see by speaking with the owner how he will transform it - given a bit more occupancy and a bit more cash. He is absolutely passionate about the place. it's a great location for a family stop off on a drive - the kids will enjoy free-ranging and using the25 m pool which has a great slide and 2 hot pools - its a relaxed atmosphere and who would want it any other way? Great welcome and great value - especially when you think there are great pools on site! They even take well-mannered dogs by arrangement.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyMnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Lovely place to stay. We've stayed once before a few years ago, as family nearby did not have enough room to host us all. Not far from Matamata at all. We only reserved a room the morning of the stay, and while only a basic cabin, it was very cheap and clean. BYO blanket, but pillow and sheet provided. Mattress not exceptional but better than sleeping in a car! There are motel rooms but these were booked out. There are caravan and tent sites too. Communal toilets, showers, kitchen, laundry and tv room, all clean. Owners are welcoming and hospitable, small front shop well stocked. The hot springs are wonderful and unlimited use is included in the room. On our last visit we met a 67-year-old in the pool, who had learned to swim there as a 7 year old, so despite being quite old the venue has appeal that keeps people coming back, particularly families. Private pools and sauna too. If you're expecting luxury, it's not for you, but as a pleasant and functional budget stay it is not bad.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMeh___
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamata
2.9 mi away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
294 reviews
3.7 mi away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
16.7 mi away
Te Aroha Holiday Park and Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Maple Lodge Motel
Maple Lodge Motel
#3 of 5 in Matamata
28 reviews
12.4 mi away
Okoroire Hot Springs Hotel
4.5 mi away
O'Reilly's Motel
O'Reilly's Motel
#5 of 5 in Matamata
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park

Property: Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
Address: 257 Okauia Springs Road, Matamata 3471, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP... Central location, 6km from Matamata set in 6ha of park-like grounds.18 hole golf course adjacent to the park. Thermal Hot Pools, Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing