We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always wonderful”
Review of Oak Lane Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oak Lane Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Morrinsville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Raumati Beach, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Always wonderful”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here for a week while working in Hamilton. Cath & Alan made me truly welcome, fed me far too well, and looked after me fantastically.
The place is a delight, the hosts wonderful, the beds comfortable and the food amazing.
Thanks, and I will be back (again and again..)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank ShaneH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaklanelodge, Manager at Oak Lane Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Shane, it was wonderful to have you back. The "Board Room" is always available for you to continue working.
Our aim has always been to produce appetising meals that our guests will enjoy. We get a great kick when our guests want to go back for second helpings. :-)
We were sad your lovely wife couldn't come this time.
Alan & Cath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
25
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We came here for the wedding of our son, and found Alan and Cath most helpful and welcoming.
Both the wedding ceremony itself and the evening celebration were a delight, and we felt that they had found the perfect venue.
We return to the U K with very happy memories.
Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oaklanelodge, Manager at Oak Lane Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We are pleased you found the Lodge a fantastic venue for your son's wedding. Hope you enjoyed the photos of yourselves and the birds. All the best. Alan & Cath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
147 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We chose this lovely property for a surprise Xmas lunch treat for our Probus Travel Club.
We arrived to find tables and chairs arranged under huge umbrellas and the BBQ ready for us. We brought our own food and drink but Cath and Alan provided crockery and cutlery, lovely iced water,coffee and a selection of teas.Our members enjoyed the chance to admire the extensive gardens and admire the birds in the aviary.We could also have swum in the pool, played petanque, croquet, outdoor chess and clay bird shooting.
Nothing was too much trouble and we would certainly recommend this as a self catering venue. However, we have also heard the breakfasts and dinners are scrumptious and the rooms very well appointed. Good enough to drive 2 kms from home for a weekend away!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Oak Lane Lodge is a very special experience. The house and grounds are superb and Alan and Cath are skilled hosts providing a beautiful, welcoming and relaxing establishment. The oak trees are magnificent. We stayed three nights and took two rooms, both of which were lovely with very comfortable beds and pristine bathrooms. The dinner and breakfast food was great, with plenty of really good coffee and a good wine selection. We got involved in feeding the native birds being breed to avoid extinction, and in the really exhilarating experience of clay bird shooting. Alan and Cath were excellent hosts. While available for advice and conversation there was also maximum privacy in the spacious, gracious house, gardens and trees. Coming from city house and apartment living, this place is heaven. As a bonus, the near-by areas offer a first rate art gallery (Wallace Gallery, Morrinsville); hot springs spa, massage and body treatment providers (historic Te Aroha); and garden visits (Cambridge); not to mention Hamilton, a city with everything. The Waikato countryside is beautiful, making this destination a perfect, world class, retreat.

Room Tip: My "Tui" room had french doors to the garden and slipping out for long walks through the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Felicity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This place is very special. It's a renovated homestead, more than 100 years old...so there are old-world architectural features coupled with a modern kitchen and bathroom ensuites. It has a rural setting with a sweeping drive in off the road through old oak trees. Meals were delicious, served in a kitchen/dining area kept warm with a wood stove. The tour of the grounds was fun, including the garden, aviary and paddocks (and hand-feeding birds and calves). The bed...it's like sleeping on a cloud...so comfortable and with beautiful linen. But the best thing of all is the hosts, Alan and Cath. They really know hospitality, they are always smiling, they are intelligent thoughtful company, we couldn't have asked for better. It's not cheap, but it's something special. Thank you, it was wonderful and we hope to come back again.

Room Tip: We were in the Kaka Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raumati Beach, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Alan and Cath are fantastic hosts, and Oak Lane Lodge is a wonderful place to stay.

See my travel blog for a full description:
http://shanehastie.wordpress.com/2011/10/18/a-restful-weekend-in-the-waikato/

Thanks!

Room Tip: All comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShaneH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reiveratsea
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

A great welcome when we arrived here. Very helpful hosts and now offering the option of an evening meal which sounded great but we wanted to try the local town and so missed out. However, the quality of the breakfast probably meant we took the wrong option! We had the king size bedroom at the front and it was very large and airy - a welcome coolness on a hot day. Rare birds trust aviary on site is an added bonus. You will not be disappointed with a an overnight here, we certainly were not

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reiveratsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morrinsville
1.9 mi away
Central Motor Lodge
Central Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Morrinsville
48 reviews
16.9 mi away
Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
20.3 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#3 of 29 in Cambridge
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Blackwood House
Blackwood House
#2 of 24 in Hamilton
78 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Nunnery
The Nunnery
#1 of 4 in Te Aroha
29 reviews
17.8 mi away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Lane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Lane Lodge

Property: Oak Lane Lodge
Address: 78A Horrell Road, Morrinsville 3374, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Morrinsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Morrinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Lane Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Lane Lodge is an expansive 100 year old villa and is at the end of a spectacular 600m tree lined driveway. It is set amongst 3.5 hectares of mature gardens and magnificent 100 year old Oak, Copper Beech, Chestnut and Cork trees. It is situated in the peaceful, tranquil rural area of the Waikato dairy farming industry and we are centrally located to all Waikato & Bay of Plenty towns. By car we are:• 60 minutes from Tauranga and the Pacific Coast• 70 minutes to Rotorua • 25 minutes from Hamilton• 20 minutes to Cambridge and Matamata• 90 minutes from Auckland International airport. Accommodation at The Lodge is Qualmark 4 star plus and consists of three well appointed Guest Rooms, each with private en-suite. Full Breakfast is included in the tariff. The lodge has two lounges, formal dining room, library and a sunroom which leads into a courtyard for alfresco dining & BBQ area. We also have a salt water swimming pool, a great selection of challenging outdoor pursuits available, such as archery, clay bird shooting, croquet, or you can take a relaxing stroll amongst the gardens and the magnificent stand of 100 year old trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Oak Lane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing