We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Refinery

The Refinery
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Paeroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paeroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Opposite the Domain is this quaint café which serve awesome food and coffee. The staff are super friendly and helpful and the food is real quality. The building and its history is available to read about and the Raleigh bicycles on display and for sale are a blast from the past.
I only hope that they eventually open for breakfast/brunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

If you are ever in Paeroa the cafe you have to go to is the refinery. The food and service is absolute quality and the rustic, eclectic charm and space of the building makes for an awesome environment. The owners are super cool and friendly and I can highly recommend the sardines on toast!!

Helpful?
Thank Danfr0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great find in Paeroa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just one street back from the Main Street, is this little gem. Quirky location and setting, great coffee (probably the best in Paeroa ) great food. A big step up from the usual truck stop cafés.
Only improvement I could suggest, it would be nice if they served breakfast/brunch

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbug2013_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, nz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Everything about this place is groovy. Food is delicious. Service is helpful and friendly. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Drive off the Main Street in Paeroa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I found this by chance on a Sunday when the main street cafe's were closed as I was heading back to Auckland via the antique shops in Paeroa.
It was a heart warming experience to be welcomed by the lovely owner and I ordered an old fashioned Barley and Vegetable Soup which was just perfect.
I sat outside in the garden, the sun on my back admiring the surroundings and the wonderful old building, in an earlier life, a gold refinery. Hence the name.
Going south, turn left and then right into Willoughby St and you can't miss it.
The owner said they also have accommodation but I didn't pursue that but it would be a very relaxing place to stay. Thank you. Catherine

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aucklandlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refinery also viewed

Paeroa, Waikato Region
 
Paeroa, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Refinery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing