We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad value for money”
Review of L'Hostreiere

L'Hostreiere
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Monkstown, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very bad value for money”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I can unequivocally state that this restaurant offers the worst value for money I have ever seen in France. I lived in France for 2 years and most places take pride in their food offering, but this place offers over priced, bad food. As the others did, we drove by this place on the way out from the American Cemetrey and spotted "Quick Lunch", we stopped off and went in, the dining room has far too low a ceiling and terrible acoustics, it is also full with as many tables and chairs as can possible be fit into the space - talk about loud! You couldn't hear yourself think, service was not quick, but not exceptionally slow. Shocked by the prices we ordered 2 croque monsieurs, the cheapest thing on the menu, I think they were about €11 each. A place like this in the rest of France would charge about €5/6 for a croque. The croque was nothing special, just your below average croque, served with a measly bit of salad, we ate, paid and left. I personally felt annoyed that so many American Veterans come to see the contribution made by the US Army and the graves of thousands who lost their life liberating France and at the end of it they are subjected to this type of blatant exploitation. Avoid, bring a picnic.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rejoyce1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    27
    23
    25
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delivered on all expectations”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Frankly, with the decor our expectations of the food were low. However, the food for the adults was good and they had kids menus, which were spot on. My son declared they had the best nuggets ever! fast, friendly service and an excellent rhubarb crumble for dessert. If you don't expect high class cooking but solid bistro, it's recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Trine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Avoid”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I wonder if we did not get food poisoning there. Yet as we ate the food was okay, nothing great, just okay.
For simple sandwiches, no side we paid 11E for each adult, 8E for each kid.
The waitress was just okay. Not unpleasant nor that caring.
I did have to change to roll of toilet paper mysel, I don't think they ever really check.

Avoid, just in case this was indeed the cause of food poisoning.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pack a picnic....”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

....if you're going to visit The American Cemetery at Omaha Beach, or at least plan to go when you're not hungry. This is a tempting stop on the road to the cemetery, in fact, the only stop, but avoid it unless you are starving and enjoy slow service and overpriced mediocre food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Average food stop touring Normandy”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Looking for a lunch stop while touring the Normandy area and spotted this place, so we stopped. It's very close to the American Cemetery and Omaha Beach. The food and service was average, nothing special, and a bit pricey. They are not a lot of restaurants in this area and it was OK for what we were looking for at the time.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hostreiere also viewed

Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, Calvados
Colleville-sur-Mer, Calvados
 
Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, Calvados
Vierville-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to L'Hostreiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing