We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Peace”

Normandy American Cemetery & Memorial
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$68.65*
and up
Half-Day Small-Group Tour to American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Overlooking Omaha Beach, the launching point of the U.S. invasion of Normandy, this cemetery contains the graves of 9,386 American soldiers who died at Normandy and a touching memorial to another 1,557 whose bodies were never recovered.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“At Peace”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We made our visit to the Cemetery last on our excursion into Normandy. After experiencing the horrors of war...visiting most of the landing sites of the Allied troops, museums, walking the beaches, we visited the brave soldiers of WWII resting in peace in our National Cemetery.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank momofdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,255
    393
    30
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mc Leansville
Level Contributor
205 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A moving visit”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited the American Cemetery which had a visitor center at the entrance. The visitor center was appealing with real items displayed, video, touch screen computers, etc. We then walked out to the cemetery which was beautiful and seems to go on forever. Parts of it overlooks Omaha beach. Make sure to walk along that area and look for the displays which show the invasion landing information. We were at the cemetery around 4 or 4:30 and were lucky enough to watch them take the flag down from the flagpole while taps was playing - talk about teary eyes!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank NCLibrarylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Moving”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

What can one say about this place!!!!! Take your time to see the America cemetery. The museum is very moving as it describes the lives of individuals.... Ensure you walk down to the cliff top... It is such a beautiful place now... and you are here thanks to these heroes!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve311059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoa beach, florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Day trip to Normandy”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

While in Paris, we hired a driver to take us to the American Cemetery in Normandy. It was drizzling that day (a usual occurance) , but with an umbrella, we were able to spend time walking through the cemetery. My husband is a Vietnam Vet, so the thing that most affected him was to stand on the cliff and look at the beach, then turn around and look at the cemetery and realize how many of those that landed on the beach are resting in the Cemetery. As with Arlington, it is a sobering experience to see how many young people have been lost to war. For me, it was also educational. I didn't realize that the Cemetery is actually American soil, a gift from France. At least that is what our driver told us. The maps in the open pavilion in the cemetery really helped me visualize the impact of the forward troops as well as those who landed on the beach. Once in the visitor's center, the hour by hour account of the invasion pulled the map details into focus. There are several small movies about the invasion and those who lost their lives in it. Prepare to be moved to tears. As with most war venues I have visited, I continue to be disturbed by man's inhumanity to man.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank orchidpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Remembrance”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The quietness that surrounds this place is amazing when you think of what it must have been like during the war. To view and finally understand the obstacles that our fore fathers battled through to gain entrance into this area of France during WWII and experience with my young son was very touching. It was such a touching moment to notice that all the crosses are within the three month period surrounding D-Day. Seeing the same dates over and over really brought the loss of that time to light for my family. Getting to the beach can be a little tricky, but worth it to stand and actually look to the top and visualize the hurdles that had to be overcome to win over this location.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank gibsonchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Normandy American Cemetery & Memorial also viewed

Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, Calvados
Cricqueville-en-Bessin, Calvados
 

Been to Normandy American Cemetery & Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing