We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An oasis of luxury and calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Tamadot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasbah Tamadot
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Asni
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“An oasis of luxury and calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Kasbah Tamnadot is a beautiful luxury hotel set in the High Atlas Mountains with stunning views. The hotel itself is very beautiful with traditional architecture and sumptuous furnishings.

Our room (21) had the most amazing painted ceiling and was beautifully decorated, it also had the benefit of a small balcony and views across the grounds to the mountains.There was a welcome drink of our choice on arrival and a free mini bar in the room which was a nice touch.

The staff were very friendly and the general manager was there to greet us on our arrival and mingled regularly with the guests which is one of the elements that raises this hotel above its maximum 5 star classification.

I would recommend at least 2 nights here to get the benefit of the setting and the hotel facilities, it is a perfect end to a weekend break in Marrakech. We will be staying at Richard Branson's Ulusaba safari retreat at New Year and if it is anywhere near as good as this then we just cant wait !! Certainly make sure you take the VIP meet and greet service at the airport it saved us an hour s wait!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smith025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    75
    32
    18
    7
See reviews for
99
419
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I don't want to write too much as this is certainly one of those places you simply must EXPERIENCE for yourself. But what I will say is that we have just returned from the most perfect honeymoon ever! This place really is Heaven on Earth. We took out the romance package and boy were we spoiled! Free mini-bar, upgraded room, leather slippers, lovely toiletries, hammam experience, champagne in the room and a private dinner for 2 with our very own waiter on top of the kasbah- wow!! The staff are incredible and the views are simply breathtaking. We had just had our wedding at La Mamounia so was worried this place would not live up to that- it did. We met Eve Branson on our final day who was delightful and the work they are doing with the local community is really inspiring- I only wish more hotels would do this and employ/train local people. An amazing experience. Thank you Kasbah Tamadot, we will never forget you and will return! PS The babe mule Parsley was beyond cute and we miss him already!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank melmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Sitting on the terrace of our Berber tent as I write! This place is wonderful, the staff are friendly and efficient and the food is wonderful! It is truly a little piece if heaven! If I had one complaint it is that when I had my massage all I could hear was traffic and people chatting which spoilt it but no other complaints!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathiesavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our honeymoon in March 2013 & it was simply magical. Beautiful labyrinth of a hotel in an astonishing setting, run with thoughtful generousness from the paid bits (restaurant, bar.) to the complementary touches: huge plate of fruit in room replenished daily, water & suntan lotion by the pool, delicious ranges of tea in the romantic hideaway-huts perched on the edge of the hotel, overlooking the valley.
The staff, particularly, were fantastic - especially the walking guide who has worked there for decades & took us to his home nearby, & introduced us to his family. I think the hotel does something socially-responsible with its staff, like only employing local people & training them up to manager level.
A wonderful place. Truly wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidnightMoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This glorious mountain hideaway, majestic with a personal touch. Splendid views, first class service. Full of surprises to be discovered as you wander the gardens.....sculptures, peacocks, camels even. Inside the delightful courtyards and rooms are a myriad of fascinating artefacts and antiquities. Serene courtyard overlooking a reflective pool takes your breath away. Everything you could wish for and more. Top drawer. Don't tell everyone it's our secret!

Room Tip: The Tower is superb with your own terrace and exclusive views. Enjoyed the extra seclusion the tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alamo499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Like all the other reviewers, we had an amazing stay here, and wish we could have stayed longer. I highly recommend splurging on one of the tented suites, and taking advantage of the hammam treatment.
If you have the opportunity to stay here, do it.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolineBethesdaMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful! Mountain views, Green Lawns, apple trees, rosemary hedges, sky blue pool, great tennis grass courts, spa, peacock, peahen, donkeys, camels, mules and five star! Trek up to Armed village through the green 'forest like' mountainous paths, through local villages, sight local handicrafts mostly berber silver tribal jewelry and woven bed spreads which were nice and priced about euro 70 per pc (not cheap but worth the effort, skills and time put in by the local women), arrive at the highest restaurant in north Africa and savor the best berber lamb tajine (slow cooked till perfection), soak the breads in the gravy and delight in the flavors, fork through the tender and juicy succulent lamb pieces and chicken kebabs while you contemplate on the views and magnificence of the Atlas Mountains, sip on morrocan mint tea and then take a slow walk down back down to Asni, amidst the locals, both children and adults riding their mules up and down on the steep and narrow mountain passages with complete faith and trust that their mules will never ever slip, stumble or fall off the cliffs. Amazing. Thank you Abdul for showing us Armed and also our gratitude to the very clever mules and their 3 wonderful guides who ensured my children felt comfortable and safe on their unforgettable mule ride up through the Atlas Mountains.

My 9 year old son's highlight of Marrakech was meeting Fawz ksikes, a tennis coach he took off with immediately! Mornings and evenings, Fawz never disappointed him. Fawz speaks perfect English, spent part of his life in the USA, coaches tennis in various part of earth until he found his paradise in Marrakech. My husband too enjoyed his many hits with Fawz. If you ever want to have great tennis games in Marrakech check him out (fksikes@gmail.com) either at the four seasons or kasbah Tamadot, both great, warm, friendly and beautiful resorts. Overall kasbah tamadot had great service, food for a mountain resort is considered good, beds and rooms comfortable, good showers, staff friendly and especially attentive was Osman who never failed to ensure that our breakfasts were in perfect order. Will definitely recommend Kasbah Tamadot to anyone who cross our paths...

We stayed at the Four seasons in Marrakech which we rated 5 star. Checked out la mamounia which we thought had fabulous grounds but unfortunately lacked the warmth of Moroccan hospitality (surprisingly many travellers we met shared the same opinion). Airport in Marrakech is very well operated. Porters always available.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AbA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asni
7.4 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
6.7 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
6.8 mi away
Chez Momo II
Chez Momo II
#3 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
5.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
23.7 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
Beachcomber Royal Palm Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Tamadot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tamadot

Property: Kasbah Tamadot
Address: BP 67, Asni 42152, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Asni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Asni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Tamadot is Sir Richard Branson's award-winning retreat situated in the spectacular Atlas Mountains in Morocco. Each of the 28 rooms and suites has been individually decorated to reflect the beautiful architecture of the building and features antiques from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kasbah Tamadot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tamadot Asni
Kasbah Tamadot Hotel Asni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing