We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great relaxing retreat after the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Momo II

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chez Momo II
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Asni
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great relaxing retreat after the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Chez Momo is a beautiful hotel tucked away in the mountains with a view of the reservoir. The pool and restaurant are excellent; food is extremely good value for money, not too spectacular, but tasty and the service is good - very nice wines are available (try the Gris!). There isn't a great deal to do in the surrounding area, but you'll be happy to make the most of the pool and sunbathing (sunbeds are a limited though). Some other guests went on mountain walks with guides from the village, which they enjoyed. Rooms are beautifully furnished in Moroccan style, however do be aware that there is no air conditioning, only a loud fan is provided, so expect to be a little warm in bed! There is also a terrace above the restaurant which is an excellent position to star gaze from - there isn't any furniture, so take your own cushion! Overall we loved our stay at Chez Momo II and would definitely recommend a stay there - we had 3 nights and wanted to stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    35
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
41
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed one night and much of a day at Chez Momo 2 and wish we could have stayed longer, instead of having booked in at a much more expensive, but poor value for money, hotel close by. The gardens and the setting of Chez Momo are outstanding and there is lots of private space to relax in if you don't want to sit by the pool. The photo above does not do justice to the rooms, most of which are in single storey 'cottages' below the pool, or to the character of the main building where the public areas are. Breakfast by the pool is delightful, as was dinner in the main house. We did not stay long enough to explore the local area but plan to do so on our next visit. Even though Chez Momo 2 is only about five- years old, since its predecessor was covered by the reservoir, it feels like a long-established home and we particularly like the fact that it is lovingly run by local Berbers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Only 1 hour drive from Marrakech. A beautiful hotel with beatiful garden and views, you will be totally relaxed after a visit to this hotel.. The rooms are big, and the food is good. Go and visit the tin mal mosque when you are there!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This charming boutique hotel is located beyond Ouirgane, right in the foothills of the High Atlas mountains of Morocco. I loved its beautifully apportioned grounds, terraced into the hillside, rising from nicely furnished cottage-like suites amid a garden setting, to the swimming pool where breakfast is served around the pool's edge, beneath the trees, and with a glimpse of the Ouirgane Dam far below, and finally rising to the main building that houses the dining room and the suites above (these suites have the best view of the mountains around and the dam below).

the service here is top notch, with owner Momo's brother Fouad helming the well stocked bar and dining room, where dinner is served beside an open hearth, beautifully set tables covered with fresh white linen strewn with pink and red bougainvillea from the bushes espaliered against the entrance that greet the weary traveller after your car winds around the mountain road that leads to the entrance to this gem.

my favourite moments were spent in the little private gardens tucked in between the cottages, where I curled up on a rustic bench with a novel I picked up from the eclectic selection in the library behind the dining room...

what distinguishes Chez momo II from its original sister of the same name is the effort the enterprising owner, Momo, has put into making a new lodging that is not only better located higher up the hillside, but also better landscaped and excellently served by staff who are quick to respond and multi-lingual in the process.

a surprising asset is the well maintained swimming pool, which was the central feature around which guests lounged for breakfast, lunch, or tea, and everything else in between!

Room Tip: the suites above the dining room are small, but have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonfly285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed three nights at Chez Momo and it was one of the highlights of our holiday. Great location for the high Atlas and the mountain passes. The hotel is beautiful, set in lush rose gardens with plenty of shady sitting out spaces. The pool is excellent. Swimming whilst looking out at the mountains and their ever changing colours was a touch of paradise. There are also great local walks in the fields and lower slopes, recommended by the staff. Our suite was very nice, peaceful with a small private terrace at the back. The room was simple and spacious. The food was excellent. The omelettes with breakfact were delicious as were the evening meals. However, morning coffee is weak unless you specifically ask for strong coffee.
The staff were first class - helpful, friendly and interesting. They really helped us understand the culture of the Berbers and make the most of our stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a suite in the seperate buildings. It was private without being remote. I would recommend one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAnn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

arriving tired, by bike, i didn't realise that Chez Momo isn't in Ouirgane, but above it. so you cycle through the town, then double back on a dirt track to end up above the town at Chez Momo. the ride isn't actually that far but when you don't expect it was a suprise.
the hotel is attractively laid out: a main building on one side, pool and landscaped grounds, and then a series of bungalows. i stayed in one of these, and it was comfortable enough.
the evening meal was good if not great. breakfast was adequate. never good when empty beer cans and teapots from the night before are still on tables when you get up for breakfast! staff were welcoming and courteous but i found them a bit offhand. good place to stay but not earned a place in my heart. booked via Booking.com

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely lunch here on our day out in the High Atlas. It's located up a winding track from the main road, affording great views over the lake, especially from the roof terrace. The traditional flat bread was fantastic, the tagines were the best we had during our stay in Morocco, and the service was excellent. We were outside on the terrace most of the time and just ventured inside to use the bathrooms. The interiors looked pleasant, although they could benefit from a bit of sprucing up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MancMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asni
6.8 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
12.9 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
5.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Bergerie
La Bergerie
#4 of 4 in Asni
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kasbah Africa
Kasbah Africa
#1 of 8 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Momo II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Momo II

Property: Chez Momo II
Address: km 61 M, Centre Ouirgane, Asni 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Asni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Asni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Momo II 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel unveils charming Berber buildings, rooms and comfortable after opening on the gardens of roses, exotic flowers and plants. You can also benefit, walks accompanied by a guide recommended by the hostel as well as rides on the backs of mules in the surrounding villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chez Momo II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing