We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Atlas mountain retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oliveraie de Marigha

Oliveraie de Marigha
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Asni
Price range: $9 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
West Sussex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Atlas mountain retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a perfect place to relax after visiting Marrakech, the grounds and dining area are in a tranquil setting with mature olive trees. The price for lunch includes use of the pool for the day. We visited on a hot Saturday in August and there were still plenty of tables and lounge chairs though it was quite busy. The food menu was somewhat limited, but everything we had was delicious and cooked fresh and with care and attention. The lunch was worth it just for the real Berber bread cooked in the restaurant's own tanort (Berber over). This is excellent value considering the pool access and we'll definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Oasis with surprises in the Atlas Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at our next hotel for 3 nights stay. What a relaxing stay we had. The manageress was brilliant and very helpful. The rooms are hidden away in the olive trees. We only had the standard room but wow, what a room. The gardens and pool are very well kept with a stunning backdrop of the mountains. Food is exceptional and with free wifi what more do you need! If you want to kick out and relax this is the place to come. Near to the walking paths in the Atlas Mountains you will not be disappointed.

Excellente!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank happyeater631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“excellent lunch in a delightful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This excellent restaurant set in an olive grove near the Asni valley was a delight. Casual seating in the extensive garden provides a lovely setting for a delightful lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maggies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caio, United Kingdom
1 review
“A piece of paradise in the Atlas Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We arrived at L'Oliveraie late in the evening and entered an enchanting garden, lit with hundreds of lanterns, amongst the olive groves and flowers.

Gaetan and his wife Celine welcomed us so kindly and despite the late hour supplied us with a fine meal of authentic Moroccan food.

The accommodation in the independant bungalows was tastefully furnished, very comfortable and beautifully situated in the olive groves, with stunning views all around of the Atlas Mountains.

We were spoilt with offers of things to do; on one evening we were taken to a restaurant nearby, situated on the shores of the lake. It was a lovely evening. We were brought home by a member of staff from L'Oliveraie. We went on several guided tours and saw the most amazing places, such as Tin Mal Mosque, Tiz n Test Pass, Kik plateau and the beautiful Imlil.

Gaetan is the kindest of hosts and all of his staff are so attentive and genuinely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, even a guitar was supplied for our daughter to make music in the evenings.

Although there is much to see and do in the Atlas Mountains, L'Oliveraie is so perfect that it is enough to enjoy the little piece of paradise set around the beautiful swimming pools amongst the olive groves.

Thank you everyone, we miss it very much!
Hoping to see you again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Camille L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We agree with the previous reviews. Lovely hotel apt for a night's stop over and designed for lounging. Hence unless you have sighseeing plans, love lounging by the pool, exploring the grounds, socialising with the staff and have loads of books, iPod/iPad or your own DVDs to keep you entertained on your stay, there is nothing much to do or to entertain you on you stay there if longer then a night.

The room was decorated smartly with the bare minimum, there isn't a TV nor radio, phone (to contact reception) and the bathroom window is not totally opaque, so anyone passing can see you. If you need something from reception, you can't call, you would have to go down to reception to speak to someone.

The outdoor area and surroundings are lovely, stunning views, however the food does not live up to it's surroundings, very disappointing. The menu is limited (no fish or veg option), unimaginative, dull looking on the plate, not fresh, over cooked, extra suppliment for something not worth the suppliment and over priced! Not worth eating there, go out for your meals if you can! The breakfast is standard - bread/pastry, butter, jam, coffee/tea, juice and yogurt, no local speciality. Our Riad in Marrakech was a 1000x better and served beautiful food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammylf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliveraie de Marigha also viewed

Asni, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Lalla Takerkoust, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Oliveraie de Marigha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing