We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed!”
Review of Le Pave d'Hotes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beuvron-en-Auge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Pave d'Hotes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We had cycled from Caen and the over night ferry, so tired and a bit cold on arrival. Our hostess gave us an enthusiastic welcome and after showing us to our room left us to a much needed wash and sleep. V clean, hot water, lovely shampoos and soaps. Can't fault breakfast either! But the bed was the best part - big and deep and oh-so-comfy!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WinFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Le Pave d'Hotes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 84 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

conveniently located close to the village and to the Pave d'auge (an excellent restaurant). Nice accueil. Our room on the ground floor was well appointed and sufficiently large but our friends who stayed on the first floor had a smaller room with little windows and were slightly dissatisfied. Breakfast was good, especially the conserves. The lady that runs the place is charming and very helpful in providing information on what to see and do in that beautiful area of Normandy.

Ottima collocazione vicino al villaggio e al ristorante le Pave d'auge (eccellente). La nostra stanza al piano terra era ben fornita e sufficientemente larga ma nostri amici che avevano una stanza piu' piccola al primo piano non erano del tutto contenti della loro sistemazione. La proprietaria e' molto gentile e da' utili consigli su cio' che si puo' vedere e fare in questa bella area della Normandia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enzo560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Le Pave d'Hotes and had a lovely time! Sophie, our hostess is genuinely friendly and welcoming. When you arrive at the Le Pave d'Hotes, there is a note in front of the locked reception door which ask you to press a bell under the stairs. I was a bit apprehensive when I saw the note but lo behold, Sophie appeared through a gate in the garden within 2 minutes of pressing the bell. Our suite was self-contained , clean with a very comfortable large double bed. It has a separate cosy sitting room which we find very relaxing after a long day out. There is a fridge stocked with cold bottle water(Free).
Sophie and her husband own two restaurants in Beuvron (1 michelin starred and the other a "simple" restaurant). We had dinner in both the restaurants twice as we did not want to travel too far for food in the evening and it was nice to be able to walk back to our room instead of worrying about our wine consumption. Every Wednesday , there is a mobile Pizza van parked just outside the back of Le Pave Auge and we were told by Sophie that they do very good pizza. We did not try them as we had a reservation at the restaurant but maybe next trip we can have an informal dinner in our room with a bottle of wine and a pizza.

Breakfast is continental with fresh croissants, baguette, slices of butter cake(made by Sophie), home made marmalade(absolutely delicious - fresh tasting with a delicate bitterness) and rhubarb jam.

We shall certainly return to this little "Inn" in any future trip to Normandy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is such a charming place to stay and your stay will be made even more so by the hostess, Sophie, who is even more charming than her hotel. The room is newly renovated and very spacious with a small sitting room and outdoor setting which we would have loved to use if the weather had behaved itself. The view from the room over the fields is just lovely. Breakfast is served in a very cosy charming room and Sophie provides a good selection of breads and pastries and conserves which she has made herself. She was extremely helpful, providing great advice about what to see and the recipe for a dessert we had enjoyed at Cafe Forges, the bistro in the town owned by her husband. Could not have asked for a better place to stay in one of the prettiest areas I have ever visited.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for a night in one of the lovely downstairs rooms. The quality of finishes was of the highest standard. However it was let down by finer points - wifi did not work, spa bath did not work and breakfast was cheap supermarket fare that seemed to have been reheated, they did not even bother to cross over the road to the lovely bakery and get some fresh bread and croissants - I wonder what Michelin would say to that?

The town is pretty and particularly popular with Japanese tourists, but we came to the conclusion that it was more a reconstructed olde France theme park than the genuine item - many of the buildings date back to recent times.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Place is run by the wife of the chef/owner of the Michelin-starred Pave d'Hotes restaurant nearby, where we had dinner. She is nice and does a great job making people feel at home.

Place is charming and quiet, and breakfast is nice. We stayed in one of the downstairs rooms; it was a cold January day but if anything, place was a bit hot by our standards. For some reason, decoration is African, but it manages not to be tacky.

Bathroom is pretty new and the hardware is of good quality, mostly German-made, which in France, in this price range, is not very usual at this point yet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This pretty, small, half-timbered inn is everything you would want in a trip through Normandy. The town is tiny but picturesque and has wonderful little shops and a restaurant on the town square that boasts a Michelin star. The inn is presided over by Sophie, a bright, welcoming, cheerful hostess. We had the downstairs suite and, though small as is typical in France, it had a cozy sitting room, a beautiful bedroom with a view over the fields, a modernized bathroom, and a private patio outside the bedroom door. Breakfast in the small, attractive dining room was included and was well-done. Our closest neighbor was a contented cow in the field beyond the hedgerow in the parking lot. And the apples had been harvested and were fresh, fresh, fresh! An idyllic setting, I recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms, but for a few euros more go for the suite.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingleStep13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beuvron-en-Auge
16.8 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
4.0 mi away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
523 reviews
7.4 mi away
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
#1 of 1 in Tourgeville
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 33 in Honfleur
512 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
0.0 mi away
Manoir de Sens
Manoir de Sens
#3 of 5 in Beuvron-en-Auge
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pave d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pave d'Hotes

Address: Le Bourg, 14430 Beuvron-en-Auge, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Beuvron-en-Auge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beuvron-en-Auge
Price Range: $90 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Le Pave d`Hotes Hotel Beuvron-En-Auge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing