We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best campsite in France we've stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping Nature Parc L'Ardechois

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Nature Parc L'Ardechois
Certificate of Excellence
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best campsite in France we've stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Lovely campsite with a friendly family vibe. On the edge of the Ardeche river with lush well sheltered emplacements. Compact with just 250 places which means everything is close to hand. Best shower block ever encountered! Nice restaurant and well stocked shop. Canoe adventures can start from the campsite with no booking required. Great fun and totally stress free apart from the rapids! Lovely swimming pools although could do with more seating. Only downside is the cost which was just under 100 euros a night for a regular emplacement. Most expensive site we've encountered but still felt like decent value. Comments about the noise from the campsite next door are true. Suggest another glass of rose!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    26
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
69
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent for all the reasons already stated (facilities, cleanliness, pool, restaurant, etc) and would have given it 5 stars. However it is next door to another camp site - perhaps targeting a different clientele - where the music has pounded away every night until midnight. This site is very family oriented and is generally pretty quiet by about 11 - it's then another hour before you can think about sleeping due to the neighbour. Maybe its because its high season however after one week we are all pretty tired as a result hence the 3 stars. A shame.

Room Tip: Pick a pitch to the west of the site if you have a choice to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

A great child friendly site, very expensive though. Have been here for a week and not once have we been able to get a sun lounger as the owners of the site allow the germans to put their towels on the loungers. They then leave for lunch (leaving their towels on the loungers) and return later in the day. The owners should put signs up in the pool area forbidding this very selfish practice. Let's hope they get this message so perhaps we get a longer next week. Apart from this a great site .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank tjb2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

A stunning location, friendly and helpful support from the staff, superb spotless facilities and a great swimming complex. With our motorhome parked next to the Ardeche we had regular enjoinment from watching canoeists attempt to paddle down river. The little town of Vallon is about a kilometre away (easyish walking) with a fantastic but modestly priced 'Le Chelsea' restaurant.

Room Tip: A little costly with their high season starting early in June
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My family and I had never been camping, so it was important to choose a good first location. We flew to Nimes with Ryanair and a silly hour, and despite arriving 2 hours before EuroCamp's "official check in", we were allowed to move in straight away.

The tents are spacious, although the sleeping areas don't exactly have a high ceiling. They come with lighting, a fridge, a cooker, a BBQ, fully matted base and plenty of partitions. Clearly the EuroCamp tents get some of the prime spots, but it's a wide area so there are plenty of good pitches.

There are four pools, from a toddler pool, a grown up pool, a kid's pool with the world's shortest lazy river(!) and a hot tub. Normal french swimming trunks rules apply, and they do sell them in the on site shop if you don't have any.

The shop itself is reasonably well stocked, but there is an Intermarche and a Lidl within 5 minutes drive, not counting the local town with all its "proper" shops. Don't forget that France is closed on Sundays!

You are right on the Ardeche and can take kayaking trips down river all day long. There's a 7km short trip that takes you under Pont D'Arc, or a 31km for the hardened paddler. Or you can just dangle your fishing rod in the water, or go for a swim.

Showers and toilets are better than I've seen in some hotels, and there are even joint parent-child showers, one for you, one for them. There is a football pitch for playing frisbee, there is tennis, table tennis, kid's activities, even aqua aerobics. And not forgetting the obligatory pan pipe band serenading the diners. Food at the restaurant was adequate in size and price, certainly the pizzas we had were good value.

In terms of people, I'd say the majority of campers were French, British or Dutch, although we counted 8 different country number plates. I also get the impression that this is a slightly up-market kind of location, judging by the cars in the grounds.

We would go there again, no problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a lovely campsite, there are no two ways about it. It is clean, it has a great location on the river bank and it has fantastic facilities. There are just one or two caveats.

Firstly, it is next door to a canoe hire location where they seem to have frequent late night parties with a heavy boom-beat. On 2 of the 4 nights we stayed, the music went on until the early hours. This may be a seasonal thing: one of the nights was the 31st August, and it could have been a last night party for many of the seasonal workers. I was told, however, that the police had been called in several times over the season to quieten things down.

It is also worth sounding a note of caution about the canoe hire on-site. Although it looks as though it's endorsed by the site-owners it is a separate company and the people staffing it seemed more interested in taking bookings than in the safety of the participants. If you are planning to take the trip, insist on wearing helmets (which are not offered), there are some dangerous rapids. We capsized and our two kids were swept off downstream - they could easily have sustained head injuries.

I have rated the camp as 4/5, and would very happily go back - but I would insist on a camping spot well away from the canoe hire.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ThomsonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here In June 2011 in a Safari Tent with Eurocamp. The safari tents are nice and spacious and have proper beds, furniture etc. They also have the added benefit of being fully decked instead of a groundsheet, which really came in handy as it rained for most of the week. The campsite was immaculate and had a nice although quite small pool, (which unfortunately we didn't get to use due to the weather). It also backs on to the river, so you have direct access to canoeing and can hire straight from the campsite. The shower blocks are amazing. They were spotlessly clean - so clean in fact that both me and my seven year old walked straight into the glass doors thinking there was nothing there, (much to the amusement of my husband). They had little showers for kids, baby showers, and even family showers so you could take your kids in with you and get ready in half the time. They are also done in a kind of cave theme so the kids think it's quite fun. The site is well positioned for all the local attractions like Vallon pont D'Arc which is well worth a look. I think it might also be the only campsite where you can walk into a decent town, so you can go for a meal and have a drink - although the walk is on a roadside rather than a pavement. The little town is very nice as well, very 'French' and has a large market on, (I think once a week). All in all it was a fab place to go on holiday with some of the most stunning scenery I've ever seen and it's noticeably warmer than anywhere else in France bar the Cote d'Azur perhaps.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1974galaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
2.9 mi away
Le Clos des Bruyeres
Le Clos des Bruyeres
#2 of 5 in Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Belvedere
Hotel Le Belvedere
#1 of 5 in Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
5.9 mi away
Domaine de Chaussy
Domaine de Chaussy
#3 of 9 in Lagorce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Camping Mille Etoiles
Camping Mille Etoiles
#1 of 1 in Labastide-de-Virac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
7.9 mi away
Camping la Digue
Camping la Digue
#2 of 4 in Chauzon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camp des Gorges Les Trois Eaux
Camp des Gorges Les Trois Eaux
#12 of 29 in Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Nature Parc L'Ardechois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Nature Parc L'Ardechois

Property: Camping Nature Parc L'Ardechois
Address: Route Touristique des Gorges de l'Ardeche, 07150, Vallon-Pont-d'Arc, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ardeche > Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
Also Known As:
Camping Nature Parc l`Ardechois Hotel Vallon-Pont-d`Arc
Camping Nature Parc L'Ardechois Vallon-Pont-D'Arc, France - Ardeche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing