We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Historic perfection”
Lucarne Suite Living Room, Eating Area, Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lucarne Suite Living Room, Eating Area, Kitchen
Lucarne Suite  Eating Area and Kitchen Lucarne Suite Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Lucarne Suite Living Room, Eating Area, Kitchen
Lucarne Suite  Eating Area and Kitchen
Lucarne Suite Living Room
Lucarne Suite Living Room, Eating Area, Kitchen
Lucarne Suite Kitchen
Lucarne Suite Decoration
Lucarne Suite Front Door
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Lucarne Suite Master Bathroom with Heated Towel Rack
Master Bedroom
Bedroom with twin beds
Bedroom with twin beds
Lucarne Suite Bathroom for 2nd Bedroom, Heated Towel Rack to RIght of Photo
Bedroom with twin beds
Bedroom with twin beds
Lucarne Suite 'Ship's Ladder' to Terrace
Lucarne Suite View from Terrace
Staircase up Stone Tower to Lucarne Suite
View from Lucarne Suite Terrace
La Charité-sur-Loire View from Ramparts
La Charité-sur-Loire View from Ramparts
Street in La Charité-sur-Loire
View of La Charité-sur-Loire from bridge
La Charité-sur-Loire
Street in La Charité-sur-Loire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
La Charite-sur-Loire, Nievre, Bourgogne-Franche-Comte

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mikesocke...
Grimes, Iowa, USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Historic perfection”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Living in centurys old lodging in France with all the modern conveniences is a tough goal to obtain but it is accomplished in La Charite sur Loire with Byron and Kelly Parker's gites. They share hospitality fit for kings and queen plus communication is never a problem if your French isn't perfect. We are four elderly cyclist on our third cycling trip from their location and the assistance they provided for us on two of our trip proved invaluable but the lodging in 15th century homes located in the town center next to a Norta Dame cathedral started in 1059 has been a highlight not match on any of our 29 trips to Europe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
We were happy to see all of you again for a third time here! We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldtoez
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Large Suite in a Picturesque Town”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

First, let me make note of our complete appreciation for Byron and Kelly as hosts. They were so helpful, and so gracious, and their help made our trip significantly better. Every time we had a question, they responded very quickly. Their suggestions for things to do in the area were tailored to our needs (we were traveling with children), and each one was spot on. Let me say - if they say something should not be missed, do not miss it! Byron took us on a tour of the town, to show us the historical highlights, and it is very clear they love the town. I will also note that they both speak English, which was a big help.

The apartment is as described, quite large. We had five people staying in it, and everybody was quite comfortable. It is at the top of several flights of stairs, and the master bedroom is up another flight of stairs. I was a little concerned at the beginning of the week, as the staircase is a spiral one and old stone (but very good condition), but by the end of the week we were going up and down the stairs without hesitation.

We loved the apartment, it was exactly what we were looking for. It is an older building, but we found it it be exceptionally clean, and very comfortable. It had all the amenities required, including air conditioning. It was in the centre of town, which made everything an easy walk away. The market on Saturday was fantastic, and we found many great places to eat nearby. Oddly - the only place for coffee in the morning was the bar, but the coffee was quite good there. Try the chocolate shop beside the old church, it was excellent.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2017
We are delighted you enjoyed your time in our Lucarne Suite and La Charité-sur-Loire. It was a pleasure to meet all of you. We hope to see you here again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah F
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Wonderful hosts, lovely accommodation.”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in the centre of La Charite in this tastefully-appointed, updated and convenient vacation rental flat. All the mod cons in an unbeatable historic setting. The neighbourhood is so charming and the flat is great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Setting and cleanliness.
Liked least: Could replace the bed pillows sometime soon...but no big deal.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irishgirl...
1 review
“Medieval flair with modern comfort”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were warmly welcomed from Kelly and Byron. A wonderful town that encourages you to pull the brakes and relax.
Unforgettable sunsets sitting on the tower patio. Have a walk along the river and see wildlife that are getting extremely rare in other parts of Europe, I have never seen so many beavers in one day. We will definitely be back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It was delightful to meet all of you. We hope to see you here again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariseau
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
2 reviews
“All I had hoped for and more!”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Lucarne suite was extremely comfortable and full of charm. The location was superb and Kelly most helpful in directing us to the interesting places in town. Our trip had been postponed two years after sending the deposit and she could not have been more accomodating in offering to keep it for a different date. Few owners would do that! La Charite sur Loire is a wonderful little town and close to so many wonderful vineyards. We did go a bit overboard in Pouilly and Sancerre and came back the first day with what I thought would be a three weeks supply of wine....well......it barely lasted one week! Eventhough the weather was rainy and cloudy, and the wine helping, we had a wonderful time. I highly recommend the Lucarne suite.

Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2016
It was a pleasure to meet all of you. We hope to see you here again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne S
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous historic village, apartment and hosts”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our first time back to France in 20 years. The historic village of La Charite sur Loire was an excellent introduction back to the French countryside. The hosts were so welcoming and informative making our stay even that much more enjoyable. The suites are charming, well designed and provide all the modern amenities that you need while still respecting the heritage of the building. The hosts provide bikes, and lots of contacts for other activities that you may be interested in. I would recommend this vacation rental to all our friends.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2015
We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our Lucarne Suite and La Charit�-sur-Loire. It was a pleasure to meet both of you. We hope to see you here again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mapsmum
Lewes
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Look no further when staying in La Charite!”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My business partner and I spent four nights staying here and were thrilled with our choice! Everything was wonderful- from Byron picking us up from the train station to Kelly showing us around our accommodation to all the thoughtful touches throughout the place. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and scrupulously clean.
The views are fantastic, especially from the secret tower.
We will be definitely staying here when we next work in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Lucarne Suite. It was a pleasure to meet both of you and we hope to see you here again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing