We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stopover on way to the Alps”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent stopover on way to the Alps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

A very friendly hotel in a quiet village situated in beautiful rolling forested countryside. I stayed with my 8 year old daughter and they really looked after her. Good simple food and tasty local wine. Great breakfast for Euro7. Would highly recommend it as a stop over on anyones way from the channel tunnel to the Alps

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoutCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    112
    31
    6
    6
See reviews for
53
121
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Even without visiting the General de Gaulle museum or memorial, this hotel is well worth considering, set in pleasant countryside and not too far from the motorway. The village itself is attractive, and the hotel is a collection of old buildings, attractively converted. The rooms are spacious and individually decorated, with quirky little touches. Dogs are welcome. The dinner was excellent; good menu, beautifully served by professional and helpful staff. We did not try the breakfast. Another little touch is the shop, which sells a number of artisanal products, which are correctly priced. Altogether a pleasant and memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashback60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We were travelling north through France on the auturoute when we noticed the General de Gaulle memorial on our map at Colombey les 2 Eglises. The memorial museum is fascinating. We decided to try the hotel La Grange du Relais in the village and we were so delighted. The staff are charming and they were very tolerant of my French. There is a pool at the back of the hotel in a lovely open garden/courtyard. We had a room which was more like a suite overlooking the pool with a big bedroom/sittingroom and bathroom. It's all beautfully decorated. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant. It was served with great professionalism and was absolutely delicious. The breakfast was also lovely. This was a memorable stay. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belindascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at this Hotel for 1 night on route back from south of France. Clearly not 5 star accomodation, but certainly exceeded our expectations and excellent value. Situated on the edge of the village it is very attractive and has the appearance of an English Country Pub with a nice bar a garden. Staff were helpful and spoke English. The rooms are clean, reasonably spacious and fitted in a French traditional style. Large comfortable double bed and a nice bathroom with walk in shower.
No tea / coffee making facilities though.
Plenty of car parking available.
We ate in the restaurant which was very good as was the continental breakfast.
This village was the birthplace of Charles De Gaulle and there is a huge Memorial to him plus a large Museum type building - charge of 12.50 Euros - we did not bother - he vetoed or European Commiunity Membership twice !!!
In summary a really nice place to stay and excellent value. I stronly recommend.

Room Tip: Eat in the Restaurant and take breakfast - you will enjoy the French traditional style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Booked here as a stopover on the way back from the Alps. We always choose a different region to explore by bicycle on the way back, and Colombey appealled because of its historic connections.

Initial impressions of the hotel were brilliant: clean, extremely well kept, high attentive staff and well equipped rooms. The old building had been beautifully renovated into luxurious guest rooms with some rustic - and slightly quirky - decorative touches.

We did have some issues, however: one of the reasons I'd booked the hotel was the free wifi, and it wouldn't work on any of our devices (and we are technical people - the wifi connected but no web pages would work). We asked for help several times, but each time the staff told us there was nothing they could do and implied it was our issue, not theirs.

There were also a few problems in the bathroom: no shower curtain, the tap had been plumbed back to front (hot was cold, cold was hot) and we had to open the bath plug with a screwdriver to let the water out.

We didn't try the restaurant as my partner couldn't eat any of the food, and we chose to eat breakfast by buying croissants, bread and orange juice in the lovely boulangerie opposite (5 euros in total for both of us).

We did enjoy our stay, but felt the service was a little cold.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachael_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stopped over at this hotel on a road trip.

The member of staff on duty was very pleasant and gave us a choice of two rooms. Both rooms were tastefully decorated.....loved the quirkiness. The building is old but converted to a light airy feel ( retaining interesting period features). The room had all amenties, toiletries and nice poweful shower.

The biggest plus was the patio doors to our room opened out to the swimming pool! Plenty of sun loungers available.

The restaurant was packed with locals. The food reminded me why France is a gastronomic delight, the simplest ingredients were transformed into a magical meal.......I had a salad and my husband ordered the pork (he says the best he has ever eaten). Staff recommended a local champagne which just made it a perfect evening.

I am planning a trip to France and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daddys_dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provence
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Our room was adequate slightly quirkey in decoration and backed onto a small swimming pool which was an unexpected bonus.

The real plus for us was the restaurant that was packed with locals (on a Thursday night). Good basic food and a simple wine list. Service was efficient but perhaps a little too quick initially.

We would use the hotel again as a stop over.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boucheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Dhuits
Hotel des Dhuits
#2 of 2 in Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Abbaye
Hotel Restaurant de l'Abbaye
#1 of 1 in Clairvaux-sur-Aujon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Nicolas
Hotel Le Saint Nicolas
#1 of 3 in Bar Sur Aube
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
21.3 mi away
Le Val Moret
Le Val Moret
#1 of 1 in Magnant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hostellerie de la Chaumiere / Hotel Susan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant

Property: La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant
Address: 26 route Nationale 19, 52330 Colombey-les-deux-Eglises, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haute-Marne > Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing