We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the detour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Even without visiting the General de Gaulle museum or memorial, this hotel is well worth considering, set in pleasant countryside and not too far from the motorway. The village itself is attractive, and the hotel is a collection of old buildings, attractively converted. The rooms are spacious and individually decorated, with quirky little touches. Dogs are welcome. The dinner was excellent; good menu, beautifully served by professional and helpful staff. We did not try the breakfast. Another little touch is the shop, which sells a number of artisanal products, which are correctly priced. Altogether a pleasant and memorable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flashback60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 274 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2011

We were travelling north through France on the auturoute when we noticed the General de Gaulle memorial on our map at Colombey les 2 Eglises. The memorial museum is fascinating. We decided to try the hotel La Grange du Relais in the village and we were so delighted. The staff are charming and they were very tolerant of my French. There is a pool at the back of the hotel in a lovely open garden/courtyard. We had a room which was more like a suite overlooking the pool with a big bedroom/sittingroom and bathroom. It's all beautfully decorated. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant. It was served with great professionalism and was absolutely delicious. The breakfast was also lovely. This was a memorable stay. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belindascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at this Hotel for 1 night on route back from south of France. Clearly not 5 star accomodation, but certainly exceeded our expectations and excellent value. Situated on the edge of the village it is very attractive and has the appearance of an English Country Pub with a nice bar a garden. Staff were helpful and spoke English. The rooms are clean, reasonably spacious and fitted in a French traditional style. Large comfortable double bed and a nice bathroom with walk in shower.
No tea / coffee making facilities though.
Plenty of car parking available.
We ate in the restaurant which was very good as was the continental breakfast.
This village was the birthplace of Charles De Gaulle and there is a huge Memorial to him plus a large Museum type building - charge of 12.50 Euros - we did not bother - he vetoed or European Commiunity Membership twice !!!
In summary a really nice place to stay and excellent value. I stronly recommend.

Room Tip: Eat in the Restaurant and take breakfast - you will enjoy the French traditional style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Booked here as a stopover on the way back from the Alps. We always choose a different region to explore by bicycle on the way back, and Colombey appealled because of its historic connections.

Initial impressions of the hotel were brilliant: clean, extremely well kept, high attentive staff and well equipped rooms. The old building had been beautifully renovated into luxurious guest rooms with some rustic - and slightly quirky - decorative touches.

We did have some issues, however: one of the reasons I'd booked the hotel was the free wifi, and it wouldn't work on any of our devices (and we are technical people - the wifi connected but no web pages would work). We asked for help several times, but each time the staff told us there was nothing they could do and implied it was our issue, not theirs.

There were also a few problems in the bathroom: no shower curtain, the tap had been plumbed back to front (hot was cold, cold was hot) and we had to open the bath plug with a screwdriver to let the water out.

We didn't try the restaurant as my partner couldn't eat any of the food, and we chose to eat breakfast by buying croissants, bread and orange juice in the lovely boulangerie opposite (5 euros in total for both of us).

We did enjoy our stay, but felt the service was a little cold.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stopped over at this hotel on a road trip.

The member of staff on duty was very pleasant and gave us a choice of two rooms. Both rooms were tastefully decorated.....loved the quirkiness. The building is old but converted to a light airy feel ( retaining interesting period features). The room had all amenties, toiletries and nice poweful shower.

The biggest plus was the patio doors to our room opened out to the swimming pool! Plenty of sun loungers available.

The restaurant was packed with locals. The food reminded me why France is a gastronomic delight, the simplest ingredients were transformed into a magical meal.......I had a salad and my husband ordered the pork (he says the best he has ever eaten). Staff recommended a local champagne which just made it a perfect evening.

I am planning a trip to France and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daddys_dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Our room was adequate slightly quirkey in decoration and backed onto a small swimming pool which was an unexpected bonus.

The real plus for us was the restaurant that was packed with locals (on a Thursday night). Good basic food and a simple wine list. Service was efficient but perhaps a little too quick initially.

We would use the hotel again as a stop over.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boucheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I stopped overnight at La Grange du Relais on my way to Provence. First impressions were good. By the standards of French provincial logis the room was light, spacious and well-decorated, with an excellent shower and free wi-fi connection.

The restaurant was busy - it was a Friday night - but in spite of that the service was prompt, if a bit rushed. As a solo diner I was not relegated to the furthest part of the dining-room. It took them a while to realise that I was indeed a solo diner - the waitress filled both wineglasses at my table, and I got two baskets of bread - but that was more amusing than irritating. The food, alas, was over-garnished - too many fiddly little accompaniments, and the jellied andouilette which should have formed part of my salad starter was missing altogether.

The dining-room was full of knick-knacks, on every flat surface - twee rural stuff like pastel-shaded milk-churns and dried flower arrangements - and the bar area in which I took breakfast next day was worse, since the knick-knacks here were not just on display but for sale, and one had to edge round them to get to and from the table. The breakfast was standard French hotel fare. Having said all that, I would not hesitate to stay here again for an overnight stop. The staff were friendly and did their best; they just didn't know when to stop on the decoration front.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Dhuits
Hotel des Dhuits
#2 of 2 in Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
89 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion
8.5 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Nicolas
Hotel Le Saint Nicolas
#1 of 3 in Bar Sur Aube
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Le Val Moret
Le Val Moret
#1 of 1 in Magnant
469 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Chaumont Centre Gare
7.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Abbaye
Hotel Restaurant de l'Abbaye
#1 of 1 in Clairvaux-sur-Aujon
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant

Address: 26 route Nationale 19, 52330 Colombey-les-deux-Eglises, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haute-Marne > Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
Price Range: $86 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing