We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Greenland Kargil
Ranked #9 of 15 Kargil B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Hotel Greenland whilst doing some work in Kargil. Set just back from the main market, it's in a central location but still quite quiet. There are two blocks (old and new); we stayed in the new block. Our room was large and clean, as was the bathroom. Meals in the hotel restaurant were also reasonable, which is an important consideration given the shortage of restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracingtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 68 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

1 month back i had travelled to Ladakh, and someone recommended me this hotel (Greenland Kargil). And i didn't expect the wonderful treatment which i got in this hotel. I don't say it is a 5 star hotel. But this the best hotel which u'll be able to get in Kargil (J&K). The staff and the food is really good. And the hotel is greatly managed by a young and dynamic manager Mr. Saber Hussain. He personally takes care of every guest staying in the hotel and also advice everyone about their trip. Cheap and good taxis (Toyota Innova, Scorpio, Sumo Grand etc) are also available with the hotel.

Room Tip: Do take some winter clothes with you always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solemn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

i njoyed a lot in this hotel, 24X7 hot&cold water,Cable tv with nice staff..!!The food in the restaurant is ok but that is what you can expect in a transit place . the most awsum thing is it is located in main city nd they provide Taxi also at cheap rate! Getting a hotel in such a place is in itself a big thing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sajid002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed there 25 Aug 2013 . The 1st room offerred was occupied . The 2nd had soiled bed linnen and broken bathroom windows ( panes missing !) . The third had human excrete marks on the towels . We accepted this room after the staff cleaned the room and replaced linen and towels under our supervison . We did not see our way open to eat the meals the we had paid for . This was proven correct when in the morning we were offerred tea in soiled cups !
Simple and humble accomodations is acceptable , but it should be clean! Staff should not stand in front of reception and spit in front of guests !
This dump does not rate near a one star and deserves to be closed down by Indian tourism . It reflects terribly on the country .

Room Tip: avoid the place at all cost
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank mwhenbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We paid an advance of Rs. 5000 and had planned to stay at Hotel Greenland. Due to a deteriorating security situation, we had to cancel a few days in advance. We haven't been able to get our advance back. Worse, Mr Ashraf hasn't had the courtesy of replying to our emails. Response time till he got the advance was under 24 hours! since it is not difficult to get a room and as mentioned below large discounts are available on the spot, I recommend others not commit my mistake. Very disappointed by the experience.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Pedd_Nan_Maga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGLKLK, Manager at Hotel Greenland Kargil, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear sir,

thankyou so much for your review, and i am sorry that your trip was cancelled due to a situation in Jammu outskirts, though it didnt affected the tourists flow in anyway.Sir we agreed for the refund despite your cancellation only three days before the arrival,though our Hotel policy is no refunds for cancellations within a month of arrival. but the next day you shifted your booking on a separate date and we agreed to it...for your next arrival you didnt informed us of the cancellation and our rooms remained vacant. as for the delay in replying to your mails it was also not our fault as internet service was and is still not functional in the whole of Ladakh due to re aligning of OFC cables Via zojila pass.
Thankyou for your review sir, we are sorry for any inconveniences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Apparently one of the best hotels in Kargil. There are two wings in the hotel. The old wing is pathetic and is overpriced. Can't comment about the new rooms since didn't get to see them. The food in the restaurant is ok but that is what you can expect in a transit place like Kargil. The town is close to the border. Getting a hotel in such a place is in itself a big thing. Although the room conditions must be improved but don't know if one can expect more.

Room Tip: The rooms are very bad in the old wing. Didn't get to check out the rooms in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royalbeat1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGLKLK, Manager at Hotel Greenland Kargil, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

dear mam,

Thank you so much for the review. it is indeed very kind of you... Sorry for the inconveniences during your short stay. we will sure try to improve on that.

thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is ok (negociate hard prices, we got 25% discount within 1 minute, we surely could have got more), nothing special actually, but good price quality ratio.
Very central in Kargil, so you can stroll the bazar from there.
The main downturn was the very close mosque / Koranic School was extremely loud, with loudspeakers playing all afternoon and several times in the night...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillesVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGLKLK, Manager at Hotel Greenland Kargil, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

dear sir,

thankyou so much for your review.

we are highly obliged. we are sorry for the loudspeakers as the day when you arrived it was a religious festival...and a little noise during festivals in India is also a sort of a cultural flavour..we are terribly sorry for the inconvinience.

thankyou very much for your good words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kargil hotels
0 mi away
Zojila Residency
Zojila Residency
#2 of 11 in Kargil
147 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Siachen
Hotel Siachen
#11 of 11 in Kargil
65 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Rangyul Kargil
Hotel Rangyul Kargil
#2 of 15 in Kargil
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Royal Gasho
Hotel Royal Gasho
#5 of 11 in Kargil
38 reviews
0 mi away
The Highland Mountain Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Hotel Caravan Sarai
Hotel Caravan Sarai
#3 of 15 in Kargil
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greenland Kargil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenland Kargil

Address: LAHDC Street, | Town Center,, Kargil 194103, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Kargil District > Kargil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kargil
Price Range: $31 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Greenland is situated in the heart of Kargil town.The establishment has 33 deluxe and normal double rooms and with an experienced staff of professionals, we provide round the clock quality service to our esteemed clients and guests. Ample parking space in the vicinity of the Town Centre, yet away from the noise and distractions of any town. If ease, accessibility, comfort and quality are your preferences, then Hotel Greenland is the right choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Greenland Kargil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing