We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Greenland Kargil
Ranked #9 of 16 Kargil B&B and Inns
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Overpriced Average Hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It's certainly an overpriced Hotel for what it offers, but is better than the others in Kargil. We couldn't J&K GuestHouse booked, so had to come here. All the other options were costlier and rather poor. Rooms were average, beds okay, bathroom good with running-hot water, as promised. Not much on room-service, we stayed there at the end of Season and their cook had left for his hometown. It's quite near the main road, so better food-restaurants are just within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unplanned_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked on-line through Agoda as it was cheaper than booking through the hotel website. We paid 2,200 rupees which is a huge amount of money for an Indian guest house/hotel, but there weren't many options in Kargil. When we arrived we were shown to a filthy room with very dirty sheets and dirty carpet. I asked for another room and was given one to the front of the old block which was still not too clean and the bathroom smelt. An English couple arrived at the same time and they hadn't booked and were given the room next to ours for 900 rupees! We then found out there was a new block with better accommodation, but we hadn't been given a room there despite the amount of money we had paid.

Breakfast was meant to be incuded and we ordered it for 7.15 as we had transport booked for 7.30am, but because there was a big group in, they didn't provide our breakfast until 7.45 and so we were late leaving. We were given very dry uneatable alu paratha.

I would really never stay in this hotel again as it was overpriced and dirty. Sheets were not clean, bathroom smelt, and food wasn't good.

Room Tip: Ask for the new block and try and negotiate a cheaper price as we overpaid massively by booking on-l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kargil hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in August 2012.

Kargil is typically a night halt when one is going from Srinagar to Leh. Given the remote location (Kargil is not really a big city), and purpose (only an overnight stay, and off towards Leh for most), I feel this hotel serves the purpose.

Basic room, but suited for the purpose. Hot water was available whenever we needed it (heater).

We felt a bit claustrophobic (for lack of a better word - stuffy perhaps...) at night, but that could be because we were adjusting to the high altitude. We opened the windows and felt better in a while.

The staff was friendly and courteous.

I would stay here if I ever have to do another overnight halt in Kargil.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGLKLK, Manager at Hotel Greenland Kargil, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thankyou for your time in writing a review about our hotel, we are humbled. We are utterly sorry if you had any inconveniences while your stay in our hotel as well as travelling through the whole of ladakh...We have improved our services in the past 6 months and we crave eagerly for your auspicious visit once again.

regards,

Hotel Greenland Kargil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Hotel rooms are really in bad shape. We were carrying the Travel Agent's voucher but initially the Manager refused to let us in. Probably wanted to make some money since there was no operational means of communication in Kargil that day. Mobiles were not working and landlines were down. The rooms are also not clean enough. The staff is not at all warm. There are better options in Kargil than this.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aman_malhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kargil
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Thanks Mr Ashraf and his team for opening such a nice Hotel in Kargil which has all the facilties like Doctor on Call , ISD/STD facilities , hot/cold water 24X7 . And all the good facxilities

Room Tip: Choose the New Block with all the good facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Najumul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jammu City, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2012

very few hotels there...and this one is among the better ones, nice staff, good food compared to the restaurants in town, hot water was a relief as the town could be really cold sometimes even during summers if its raining, ..a nice and quiet balcony with good sun rays was the best part......a good choice if you wana rest for sometime after trekking through zanskar and suru valleys...

Room Tip: ASK FOR THE "NEW WING" as they prefer to call it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adhitya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kargil
0.0 mi away
The Highland Mountain Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dzojila
Hotel Dzojila
#2 of 9 in Kargil
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Gasho
Hotel Royal Gasho
#4 of 9 in Kargil
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Siachen
Hotel Siachen
#9 of 9 in Kargil
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Palace
Hotel Royal Palace
#68 of 75 in Leh
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zojila Residency
Zojila Residency
#2 of 16 in Kargil
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greenland Kargil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenland Kargil

Property: Hotel Greenland Kargil
Address: LAHDC Street, | Town Center,, Kargil 194103, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Kargil District > Kargil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kargil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Greenland is situated in the heart of Kargil town.The establishment has 33 deluxe and normal double rooms and with an experienced staff of professionals, we provide round the clock quality service to our esteemed clients and guests. Ample parking space in the vicinity of the Town Centre, yet away from the noise and distractions of any town. If ease, accessibility, comfort and quality are your preferences, then Hotel Greenland is the right choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Greenland Kargil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing