We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a perfect lunch after the beach”
Review of Grain De Sel

Grain De Sel
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Salines
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
325 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great for a perfect lunch after the beach”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

After enjoying a morning at the nearby Grande Saline beach, Grain de Sel is a perfect setting for lunch. We had lunch there twice and found the food, service and ambiance to be tops. Our salads were fresh and substantial, and, for St. Bart's, almost affordable! Service was friendly and perfectly paced. We felt neither rushed or ignored. A nice surprise was an 'on the house' shot of vanilla or ginger rum, which is made there. This is a 'must do' for anyone at the beach at Grande Saline. Grain de Sel is also open for dinner, and I assume would also be a great dinner choice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irish_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    86
    26
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good and near the beach”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Good experience, wide choice, nice food, not so expensive. Clean and the waitress is very efficient.
We ve been there twice and it was good.

Helpful?
Thank Strangerinmoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable dinner”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is more creole for dinner but there is plenty of choice. All the food we had was flavoursome and properly seasoned. We had the stuffed christophine which was piping hot and very tasty and the lobster and prawn stuffed cabbage which was very very good. We then had the grilled whole local fish which great and the chicken brochette and piquant sauce. The latter was also very tasty and the sauce quite spicy. The food was cooked to order so the pace was just right.
Definitely a place to go back to. Great value for St Barts.

Helpful?
Thank MrVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windwardside, Saba
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Creole Food!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

One of the most delicious and creative meals I ever had. The fish sausage and mahi mahi were amazing. The downside is that you have to wait a long time on the food so go early. It's worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, schizophrenic service”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We are regulars to the Island and decided to try le Grain de Sel for lunch while visiting Saline Beach. Our appetizers were delicious and our main course (grilled mahi-mahi) was very flavorful, and service was decent until we asked for some more bread. The waiter explained that the oven was off and it would not be restarted for five minutes.

From that point on we were treated like lepers. He ignored us, finally taking our cappuccino order, then not submitting it for 20 minutes. When I walked up to the bar to ask the progress, he explained that they were making it now. It wasn't delivered for another 15 minutes, and the milk was curled when it arrived.

Not sure what we did to tick him off (we speak French well and were polite and patient). I might add that there were only 2 other tables occupied at the time, so there was no excuse to forget us.

There are so many fantastic restaurants on this island...never had a bad experience in the years we've been coming...so needless to say we will not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markofpalmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grain De Sel also viewed

Grande Saline, St. Barthelemy
Salines, St. Barthelemy
 
Grand Cul-de-Sac, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to Grain De Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing