We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
C'era Una Volta Scicli
Nearby Hotels
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acquamarina Hotel(Donnalucata)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Torre Del Sud Hotel(Modica)(Great Value!)
$98
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
FerroHotel(Modica)
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Le Dune(Sampieri)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
56
9
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshort walkthe perfect hostrailway stationsan bartolomeoperfect staygrazie millesalmon cakesfrancescacaveshousetownbeachesterracecarbutcherapartmentsunshine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 67 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week trip travelling across Sicily - one week of which was spent in the charming small town of Scicli at Francesca and Luigi's lovely C'era una volta. The house is spotless and whilst away from the busy centre, is a very easy level walk of all the amenities of Scicli. Francesca could not have done more to make our stay easier, she was even on hand to advise my son and his girlfriend who were cooking, how to prepare the Sicilian vegetable tenerumi! We have travelled a fair bit around Italy, including Sardinia and Sicily, but particularly liked this area and loved Scicli. The people were friendly and welcoming and made us feel very much a part of their community. Grazie Francesca - alla prossima!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janpickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescaLuigi, Owner at C'era Una Volta Scicli, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Janice,
for Luigi and I reading your words is like getting a gift. We liked you and your special family and would really love to welcome you back whenever you wish. I love cooking and tasting the real flavour our the local fresh vegetables and fruit .... maybe next time we could buy some fresh food and prepare together a special meal for all of us. Why not? Tanti cari saluti da Scicli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband booked this as a surprise for my 50th Birthday in April. We arrived late and had trouble finding Scicili but a call to Francessca and she met us in the town at the large church. The house is immaculate and ideal for a couple to spend a relaxing week with easy access to local restaurants and only 10 minutes drive from the beach. We really enjoyed the guided tour of Scicli and, if we had been there longer, would of definitely liked to have purchased fresh produce from the local farmers and cooked ourselves.

We thoroughly enloyed the roof terrace having our breakfast every morning in the sunshine we were exceptionally lucky with such good weather in April. I am sure we will visit again.
The Smiths London England

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescaLuigi, Proprietario at C'era Una Volta Scicli, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Eddie and Julie, I thank you for your nice words towards us and the house. We love making people feel home and hope to welcome you back to cook something special together, to taste some more granitas and discover other interesting and more hidden secrets of Scicli. A presto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived at Piedigrotta 22 on 27 April 2013 in search of some much needed R & R.What we got was so much more than we could have hoped for.The house is kept immaculately by Francesca & Luigi and the roof terrace was fantastic with a view to die for.Scicli provides so many places of interest to visit and we were never short of somewhere to eat and drink to a high standard.Francesca was a wonderful host and very knowledgeable about Scicli and the surrounding areas.We were very grateful to her for the lift to Sampieri and for drawing our attention to the smell of the wild fennel on the breeze.It was also highly amusing being held up at the level crossing awaiting one of the that day's two trains!All in all we had a fabulous week and will certainly be returning at the first available opportunity.Many thanks again to Francesca and family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescaLuigi, Owner at C'era Una Volta Scicli, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Darren and Gill, it was simply a great pleasure welcoming you to Scicli and to C'era una volta and spending some time with you. You have been very nice with us and wandering with you around Scicli and Sampieri made me feel simply happy. There is nothing more gratifying for me than sharing good feelings and experiences with friends coming to Scicli just to discover it with curiosity and enthusiasm. I really hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife cousin and I stayed from 17th to the 24th of May, we had difficulty in finding the property but a telephone call to Francesca solved the problem as she came to meet us in the town and guided us to the property in her car, I would add that there was a fiesta going on at the time.
Francesca and her husband are fantastic hosts and nothing appears to be any trouble, she took my cousin Miriam on a conducted tour of the town as both my wife and I have trouble in walking for any length of time. We all loved the old town and everyone we met were kindly and helpful, there were a number of decent places to eat and a nearby super market. Francesca told us of a number of places to visit by car which were within an hours drive. The property is homely and makes you feel more like a local than a tourist, the neighbours are very friendly even if you cannot speak Italian. We would highly recommend a holiday in this property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescaLuigi, Owner at C'era Una Volta Scicli, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

It has been a pleasure meeting you and hearing how much you travelled in your life. You made a lot of interesting experiences and visited so different places. Therefore I appreciate even much more your nice words towards the house, Scicli and us. We welcomed you simply as friends as we are used to do with all our guests. Cari saluti da Scicli. Francesca e Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet hide-away in an enchanting, historic Sicilian town with dramatic scenery on your doorstep, 10 minutes from the sea and with an abundance of sight-seeing opportunities within easy reach, then Scicli and "C'era una volta" are for you. Francesca, our charming English speaking host, was very informative and helpful. Especially fascinating was the morning we spent together exploring dark alleys, tasting the local fruits and herbs and seeing how, in the cliffs opposite "C'era una volta", the people of Scicli used to live.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancescaLuigi, Owner at C'era Una Volta Scicli, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Andrew and Fiona, it has been a pleasure spending some time with you while exploring Scicli together. Your interest in our history, arts, flavours and tastes made me feel proud of being half sciclitana. If you feel like coming back, you know you have a house and friends in Scicli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews