We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Testless and overrated”
Review of Al Galu'

Al Galu'
Ranked #4 of 96 Restaurants in Scicli
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Testless and overrated”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a family dinner. Orders a mix of finger food appetizers. The seafood was not washed good full of sand,10 different things and tested very much the same dull and raw. Staff was ok , music they played more like a bus station music. All in all not a very good experience and not a lace to revisit .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BassimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    151
    62
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sicilian Slow Food delight”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Saturday 8 June 2013 ,my wife, a friend of us from the States and myself went to visit the town of Scicli. lunch time came and we selected the Al Galù restaurant. The spaces are clear and the lights are very soft. A music that comes from far, barely listenable have accompanied our stay. The waiter came and with a friendly smile welcomed us. The menu is already a great surprise, made of nice old style rough brown paper that lists the variety of dishes to select. Tradition and local ingredients mixed with the fantasy of the cook, Mr. Luca Giannone and the wife Gabriella have made the difference bringing us to discover old tastes reviewed in a very fine way. Quality of food, freshness of fish, taste of the Inzolia white wine have delighted us from the arrival to the end. We have felt like we have known each other since long instead of being there for the first time. Price was worth the fine food and atmosphere. I really recommend Al Galù to live a great and rewarding slow food experience... Go and do not rush to leave :):):).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Giuseppe_Pellegrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a town - what a meal!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

These delightful people welcomed us for a superb meal on 3/4/13 at a reasonable price. Fascinating carob bean shaped bread led to a wonderful working of the regional cuisine. The lady owner was most generous with her time in discussing technical aspects of the meal. We also got some welcome Italian lessons in the process. A truly delightful family run restaurant (a sister makes the gold standard tiramisu).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a very enjoyable dinner with American friends; the hosts are very charming and smiling but hardly speak a few words in English which is to me very unprofessional. Very good bread and super good local live oil, we tried their beans specialty which was good.The ambiance is very nice in a white clad stone old cave really charming but with a little more effort could be gorgeous, for example lightings too strong.It is not cheap but adequate. Desserts to improve, so potentiality but still a long way to go.They also need a sommelier, the lady is nice but knows little about wines. It is a place to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aquilasicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modica, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've been in this restaurant several times.
Gabriella and Luca are very nice people with outstanding food knowledge.
Perhaps,one of the best restaurants in the area.Without doubt.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank thewinetaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Galu' also viewed

Scicli, Province of Ragusa
Scicli, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Al Galu'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing