We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and surprising lunch!”
Review of Baqqala

Baqqala
Ranked #1 of 95 Restaurants in Scicli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $73
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
München
1 review
“Amazing and surprising lunch!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We just wanted to make a quick visit to Scicli for about and discovered this lovely little restaurant- because Carlo (the owner? a waiter?) was smiling broadly and making jokes when we walked by. He and his colleague Valeria are not only serving delicious food ( we had great fresh salads and the MOST delicious cannolo EVER!) - they are also entertaining their guests in such a fun and charming way... This lunch was one of our highlights in Sicily so far!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanWenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    206
    45
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sicilian experience di Mare”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Amazing fresh food, from the sea to the dish. An experience to be lived!
Carlo the waiter made our lunch even more enjoyable he is such an amazing character.
If you come to Scicli this restaurant is a must

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LPCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon, Surrey
Level Contributor
220 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Under the gaze of a gargoyle”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The setting for this quirky little restaurant is perfect - right beside the Palazzo Beneventano with its fantastic gargoyles. We visited twice, with the first visit more enjoyable than the second. There are only a few tables outside and it was full on the first occasion, so plenty of atmosphere and a nice chilled out vibe with jazz music in the background. The food was excellent, a lovely mixed anitpasti platter followed by delicious ravioli of swordfish. My husband's squid ink risotto was enormous and a little bit stodgy. We enjoyed a bottle of good, though expensive wine and I had the 'decomposed' (sic) cannoli which tasted as good as it looked.
Our second visit was a little disappointing as the restaurant was empty until after 9pm, and the grilled fish that I had was extremely expensive and not anything to write home about. The waiter is certainly a character, and the food for the most part is interesting and of good quality. Closed on Wednesdays.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Taxidiotissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jolly and fine.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great setting behind the Palazzo Beneventano. Fun staff. Fantastic fish. But a problem if you don't want fish, it's all there is on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bandf39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
259 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting, friendly staff. A tad expensive, but antipasta was delicious. Tuna steak excellent but without sesame seeds is probably the best choice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Surreyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baqqala also viewed

Scicli, Province of Ragusa
Scicli, Province of Ragusa
 
Scicli, Province of Ragusa
Scicli, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Baqqala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing