We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small can be beautiful”
Review of Hotel Novecento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Novecento
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Scicli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed at the Novecento as part of a tour of the South East. Following a two hour flight delay we drove into Scicli approaching midnight which was good and bad. There was no traffic but we could not read the maps or the street signs in the dark. Needless to say we got lost but after a call to the Hotel we were finally guided in. The front desk were nonetheless happy to serve us drinks and provide nibbles whilst we unwound and relaxed. The Novecento is what is currently termed a boutique Hotel, very understated but decorated in a contemporary manner, with quality fitments and high standard of rooms (we had a Jacuzzi bath with two showers) Breakfast was in a small but comfortable dining area and the food was of a good standard. All the staff at the Hotel were friendly and helpful, parking the car, providing maps for touring etc. The restaurant was closed although eating out was not an issue as there are many good restaurants in the vicinity. The small courtyard in the middle of the Hotel was an especially pleasant area in which to sit and relax after walking the town which is delightful.

If you treat this place as a bed and breakfast then you will not be disappointed as it is among the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackMirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 369 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for short time.
The location is nice: in the very heart of Scicli (pedestrian area). The surroundings is quite as the town itself.
The staff is very friendly and welcoming, helpful.
The room had a very beautifully painted ceiling, but quite simply furnitured. The corridors and reception is simply furnitured as well, but I would say that in the pure style of 4 * hotel.
The breakfast was nice: a big variety of local cheeses; fresh fruit; the staff was very attentive during breakfast.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, but better for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Spotless, well cared for rooms. An authentic urban villa. Quiet neighborhood. Gracious and Friendly staff. Easy stroll to main piazza. They move your car around for parking as needed. Tasty and complete breakfast buffet. Best dinner we had in SE Sicily a mere 10 yards away, over the 'Ponte'. How friendly a town? We couldn't find the hotel even though only a couple blocks away: so, Meter Maids in the main piazza had us follow their car to the hotel, a police escort no less! Bravo. Perfecto. Get precise directions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joecafone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This small boutique hotel in the centre of Scicli was welcoming, very comfortable and the staff couldn't do more to make our stay very memorable. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed, but the breakfasts were excellent and provided a selection of fresh fruit and local honey along with normal Italian fare.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel Novecento is a simply excellent hotel in every way. In a great location in the city (Scicli), outstanding staff, delicious breakfast, beautiful old building renovated inside to a very modern boutique hotel. A very nice breakfast room and a little courtyard garden area.

I was upgraded to a deluxe double room, rather than the single I had reserved as a solo traveler. The room was lovely, spotless, fresh, devine bed linens and the best pillows of a 3 week trip. The bathroom was sleek and modern with an all marble full sized, tub/shower. I had a couple pairs of pants laundered and they were returned the next day perfectly done. Bedroom and bathroom are very small however. That's OK, size is typical for this period of building.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spello2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A lovely hotel, well situated with an excellent welcoming staff. Unfortunately wi-fi was not good in the room and I think we were unlucky to get a room with little natural light..The restaurant had been closed. However the breakfasts were superb with nice touches such as the mulberries and local honey bought to the table as extras. Well situated for exploring Scicli and surrounding areas.Especially good for Montalbano fans. Overall well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennieWSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Most of the tourist accommodation in Scicli appears to be B & B's so, a hotel in this town which at the moment is not too well known by tourists is a rare find. And what a find!
It was hard to locate initially and all our drives back to it over 3 days were a bit hit and miss in recognising which road we were on.
It is situated in the heart of the small town (now becoming famous as a location for filming Inspector Moltabano) and located just around the corner from its now famous town hall.
The hotel is small and modern with a lovely sunny courtyard at the rear. There is room for parking a few cars in front.
The rooms were clean and again stylishly modern with the latest tastes in the bathroom decor.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Vincenzo who so graciously and willingly managed to answer all our inane questions about the Moltabano filming sites and gave us tips on where to find the beach house, the police station, the Commissioners office and the Mafia House at Donnafugata which is actually a castle open to the public.
Breakfast was a typical Italian selection of cakes, cold egg and sausage tart and some wonderful local cheeses, donkey milk and honey. They also made the best freshly made coffee we have ever tasted.
With Scicli being so central to a beautiful part of southwest Sicily we will definitely return to stay at delightful Hotel Novacento.

Room Tip: There were no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jareynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scicli
4.1 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
661 reviews
7.9 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
676 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Le Dune
Hotel Le Dune
#1 of 1 in Sampieri
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
551 reviews
9.3 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
5.9 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novecento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novecento

Address: Via Giovanni Dupre, 11, 97018, Scicli, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Scicli
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Scicli
Price Range: $92 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Novecento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Novecento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novecento Hotel Scicli
Hotel Novecento Scicli, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing